How To Have A Long, Happy and Healthy Relationship……………With Your Makeup.

Hi Everyone,

Hope your all happy and smiling; Spring is on it’s way,yeah.

I was on Facebook the other day and came across an article on a beauty page claiming that we should all be getting rid of our makeup if it’s older than 5 months and up to a year old. This really annoyed me. Nobody is telling me that i am throwing away my makeup after 5 months especially as i wear expensive products. I have some makeup products that are 7 years old and they are as good today as the day i bought them.

I wrote in the comments box below the article, that makeup can last years if stored correctly and if you regularly cleaned your brushes. Needless to say, i never got a response mmm.

Brush Washing

The point i want to make here is exactly the same as the response i gave to that article. If you want your makeup to last the course and not end up drying out, smelling odd, or turning a funny colour, then you need to handle it correctly. Why would you want to abuse it? All it takes is simple common sense steps which will ensure its life and you value for money.

Here are my tips for giving your makeup a long shelf life and it’s worked for me.

1.First and most importantly is, wash your makeup brushes. You may be surprised if i tell you some people keep using the same brushes for up to 6 months without washing them.Yuck! I wash mine every week/fortnight without fail. They hold dirt, dead skin cells and may have dust mites. I do not use any of the fancy brush cleaners either, just shampoo and it does a great job. Include makeup sponges and brushes that come with the product as well. You may only use them now and again but it will still shorten the shelf life of your product.

Dirty Makeup Bag

2. Clean your makeup bags or throw away and start with a new one. They get filthy, its a fact. Loose lids and lipstick caps come off, leaving a mess hanging around at the bottom of the bag and covering your brushes; etc.

3. One brush, one product. If you are applying an eyeshadow, use one brush if you are applying another colour, then use a different brush and another one to blend colours. This will stop your makeup becoming discoloured by dipping into different makeups.

4. Store all makeup in a cool, dry environment and i even store it in the original outer boxes were possible. If it’s in your car, take it out when you get home. Cars get extremely hot or cold depending on the weather.

5. Do not leave makeup products open to the air for too long. It will dry out a lot faster.E. coli

6. Eventually, the anti humectants, anti bacterial and anti fungal ingredients will break down in your products and generally do much faster in high street ones, so just keep covered as much as possible to avoid airborne baddies and dust mites.

7. You and only you should use your makeup. Your friends may have infections they are unaware of; such as, the start of a boil or Conjunctivitis. Both are caused by ‘normal flora’ (a mix of bacteria we all have on our faces, ears, nose mouth and hands) which have multiplied heavily due to being run down; etc. You don’t want to end up getting skin and eye infections as well as infecting your makeup. I avoid using makeup testers at beauty counters for this reason.*

*Bacteria will generally only survive for about 3-4 hours on makeup products as makeup is not a food source for it.; however, if you use the same makeup within that time, you are likely to be contaminated with microbes from others hands, noses and mouth as well as E.coli, (above right) which is from fecal matter. Hope your not eating right now!!!

Dust Mite

There you go. Easy steps to give you a long happy and healthy relationship with your makeup. If you have any other techniques to ensuring a long shelf life of your makeup, then i would love to hear them. Until next time, have fun and take care. ;-)

~ by Mirifique Beauty on February 12, 2013.

12 Responses to “How To Have A Long, Happy and Healthy Relationship……………With Your Makeup.”

  1. Great tips! It’s important to keep your makeup brushes clean and pay attention to the expiration dates.

    – KW

    http://musthaveboxes.com/

  2. I have never bothered with expiry dates you know. Like i say, most of my makeup is still going very strong after 7 years. I have never seen expiry dates on my Dior or Chanel makeup. I think high street makeup tends to dry out a hell of a lot faster though, but truth is, your really only get what you pay for and if you pay a lot then its wise to look after it.

  3. Simple but great tips!!

  4. Thanks Cristina. :)

  5. Yes! Couldn’t agree more…I hate it when I read articles telling me to get rid of it my makeup! I worked hard to pay for it so I’m not going to chuck it away after such a small amount of time! xx

  6. You just don’t need to. I think if its high street then it does dry much faster but high end lasts many years, i know that much.

  7. Absolutely brilliant! Thank you. I have always been rubbish with make up but have discovered higher end products and I’m hooked. Good to know they CAN last!

  8. Oh yes, some last a long time like Dior and Chanel. Just keep it in a cool place

  9. I agree 100%. Some of my high end stuff is years old and smells like the first day. I used to have acne which made me extra careful about bacteria on brushes and such, and it does make a difference (for the brushes and the products at least). The only products I do throw away once a year are lip glosses, but I own no high end lip glosses.
    Anyway, great post even if the pics at the end freak me out. ^_^”

  10. I agree with lip glosses. In fact, now what i do is deposit the gloss onto back of my hand and then apply it with a brush rather than put it back into gloss. I have only had one go off on me and that was a Chanel one i had for 3 years and i had left it in my car in the summer for a few days. Eww the smell was rank haha

  11. Great article with very useful tips. Definitely pinning it.
    xo
    Tiffy

    http://www.CuteLA.com

  12. Thanks Tiffy x

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 671 other followers

