Christmas Stocking Filler 2. Ombres Matelassees De Chanel, Charming……………. If There’s One Thing!

Hi Everyone,

Hope you’re all having a great week. So Christmas gifts can be a daunting thing. What to buy and for whom! Where makeup is concerned, it can be a minefield picking the right colours for people and keeping them very happy at the same time. Well! I just found the perfect eye palette for everyone. Seriously you cannot go wrong with these hues at all.

Chanel Ombres Matelassees de Chanel Charming

Chanel once again, pull the show stopping Nuit Infinie holiday collection out of the bag for Christmas and i seriously didn’t believe they could top the Harmonie Du Soir Eyeshadow Palette from last years Eclats du Soir holiday collection; but. oh! yes they did.

The Eyeshadows

This 5 eyeshadow palette contains very universal neutral shades for everyday/evening wear. All are buttery soft and very finely milled, as you would expect. They have the distinctive Chanel quilt pattern stamped onto each colour.

Chanel Charming Eyeshadow Palette without Flash

The shades are from left;  satin pale beige (highlighter); matte light brown; shimmering golden copper brown (the most beautiful shade of all); dark satin brown and finally, an unusual matte purple grey shade. All are very pigmented. There are many combinations of these colours to pick and both the dark brown and purple/grey can be used as socket colours and eyeliners or for a smokey eye effect.

Chanel Charming Eyeshadow Palette

They blend very easily and i like the fact that there are some matte shades which are great for my, more mature eyes. I do; however, just adore the golden copper shade which i use over the whole lid. As you can see below, i am very fond of the light beige, golden copper and the purple/grey shades. They look gorgeous together and the colours wear very well the whole day. On a more personal note, i would have preferred more shimmery shades for a holiday palette but i guess this one makes a great overall palette and is more suitable for a wider range of people.

Chanel Ombres Matelassees Eyeshadow Palette Charming Close Up

This is going to make a great gift as it is ideal for travelling with as well as being incredibly universal, costs £48.00; however, money well spent in my opinion. Well done Chanel for producing a great all rounder. Going! Going! Gone and it will be very soon!

Below swatches; Left in ambient daylight and right; with flash.

Swatches of Chanel Ombres Matelassees Charming No flashSwatches of Chanel Ombres Matelassees Charming with Flash

Would you love to receive this in your Christmas stocking? Have fun and i will see you all soon. ;-)

~ by Mirifique Beauty on November 30, 2013.

6 Responses to “Christmas Stocking Filler 2. Ombres Matelassees De Chanel, Charming……………. If There’s One Thing!”

  1. I bought this and I don’t wear much eye make up except eyeliner and mascara but this is a must. Even Lisa Eldridge with all her experience of every beauty brand out there says this is a must have as a make up bag staple. It really is beautiful and I really like how Chanel have printed the colours of the compact on the outside packaging as that was a massive bugbear of mine having to rummage through umpteen compacts to find the one I want possible damaging the boxes as I go. Torn boxes depreciate the value on ebay so I always keep my compacts immaculate in case I get bored or I bought something on a whim but never really used it and then decide to trade them in……one things for sure I won’t be trading this one in ever, it’s perfection.

    • I agree too as i mentioned in the post, it’s completely universal. I have worn it more than any of my other eyeshadows since i have bought it and that’s saying something. I wear eyeshadow almost every single day. I also add Dior Mono Fusion, Meteore to it for extra sparkle as my only gripe is that it isn’t sparkly enough for a holiday palette or for me. I like shimmer even though, at my age, it sort of breaks all the rules but i was always one for not following silly rules anyway haha. This is the best ombres Matelassees ever produced by Chanel and I certainly will not be selling mine either and i keep all the boxes and pouches too. Glad to know someone else does. :-)

  2. The best way to preserve the value of anything you own is too keep every bit of original packaging. I even managed to sell a Harrods chocolate fountain last Christmas for more than I bought it for because I had every bit of instruction, packaging and the box looked brand new. It had been used numerous times but when it was photoed an but on ebay it looked immaculate. Same with some Lancaster Suncream I sold yesterday which was still in original box with ingredients list. I never ever throw anything until I know it’s past being ebayed. Xx

    • TBH with me, i just don’t like scratching the palettes either, so keeping it in its original packaging is a must. I really have to start selling some makeup soon as my 9 draw Alex unit is now almost full but i just can’t part with it either!!!

  3. Yes, this is a gorgeous palette… and i really need to take it out more often!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 675 other followers

