My May Favourites………….For The English Rose!

Hi Eveyone,

How are you? I can’t believe we are nearly in summer already; i nearly forgot to do my monthly favourites!

I have been wearing a lot of makeup this month because i have been getting creative with a new look everyday. Obviously, that would make a month long read of my monthly favourites if i included every colour i have used, so i am just giving you the rundown of the colours i have used the most over the month instead.

May Favourites

Without further hesitation, here they are.

1. Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua. Skin Perfecting Foundation. B20

Now the weather is getting warmer, i am opting for the sheer foundations as my skin tends to get a bit more oilier with warmer weather. I have included this a couple of times on my monthly fav’s so, not going to say too much other than it has great coverage for a sheer foundation and doesn’t settle into my lines.

2. Essie Nail Polish. 246 Leading Lady.Essie Leading Lady Swatch

Lovely colour red and reminds me so much of Chanel Malice; however, it’s not quite as classy, with its chunky glitter; its still a gorgeous colour, really suits my skin tone and doesn’t chip on me like other nail polishes do.

3. Chanel Illusion D’Ombre Long Wear Luminous Eyeshadow. 88 Abstraction.

Chanel Illusion D'Ombre Abstraction Normal LightChanel Illusion D'Ombre Abstraction SunlightDSC05773(1)

Love this gorgeous golden salmon pink shade. I have many of the Illusion D’Ombre eyeshadows and they are a must in anyone’s collection. They do not crease with primer underneath and have plenty of pigmentation to them as well as gorgeous golden micro shimmer. My only slight niggle is that the micro shimmer tends to disappear after 4-5 hours wear but the colour itself doesn’t fade at all. Gorgeous!!! ย (left in normal light and middle in sunlight. Swatch in sunlight).

4. Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Eyeshadow. 16 Beach Bronze.

Another favourite. I have used this in the crease with the Chanel abstraction across the lid and the combo is lovely on blue eyes. I bought this shade from the Miami Beach Collection 2012 and its a lovely golden brown colour with micro shimmer. Very pigmented and easy to apply. Once set, it doesn’t budge all day or fade. The best product Bobbi Brown make, in my opinion.

Bobbi Brown Beach Bronze Long Wear EyeshadowBobbi Brown Beach Bronze Swatch

5. MAC Kohl Powder Eye Pencil. Raven.

A really rich warm copper/brown shade. Stunning again, on blue eyes and goes well with the above eyeshadows. This duochrome pencil can easily be smudged out to create a smokey look. It applies quite easily with no drag and i do really like MAC eye and lip pencils. It does fade slightly during the day but thats after 4-5 hours wear. Great quality for a good price.

6. ย Dior Lip Pencil. Nude Rose.

Another firm favourite. I really like Dior Lip Pencils. The two i own, don’t have a strong opaque finish but they do stay put and i like that they don’t wear as a clear tell tale line around the lips. They are easy to blend and have a great shimmer to them, which creates a different lip look in comparison to my Chanel lip pencils. I own Nude Rose and Sparkling Beige and they both wear very well with a wide range of lipsticks. If you can’t afford endless amounts of different coloured lip pencils, then you should at least have a beige and a rosy/nude shade in your collection and Dior’s last a long time too.

7. Chanel Rouge Allure Lipstick. 75 Amusing.

Chanel Rouge Allure Lipstick Amusing

I think this may now be discontinued but i really like this shade. Its a rosy/mauve colour and goes with most makeup looks i create. I have been wearing this shade a lot this month and once again, i don’t think i need to mention why i love Chanel lipsticks. Intense and long wearing and gorgeous packaging. Enough said!

8. Chanel Natural Finish Pressed Powder. 507 Rose Blossom.

This was the first Chanel product i received as a gift, about 6 years ago. I love the pale pink shade and the micro glitter. It mattes down the skin really well and leaves hints of sparkle but not too much. Can be worn in the day time. Obviously, not available anymore but Chanel bring out many compacts similar to this year on year. (Below left in normal light, middle sunlight and swatch right).

Chanel Pressed Powder Rose BlossomChanel Pressed Powder Rose Blossom In direct sunlightChanel Pressed Powder Rose Blossom Swatch on hand

This was my first introduction into the fantastic chanel face powders and its still going strong with no drying out, which speaks volumes about the quality of Chanel.

What are your May favourites? Hope you enjoyed this post and questions and comments are always welcome. Take care and i will see you all soon. ๐Ÿ˜‰

~ by Mirifique Beauty on June 1, 2013.

6 Responses to “My May Favourites………….For The English Rose!”

  1. The Bobbi Brown cream eyeshadow looks gorgeous. In fact everything on here does. I love your taste in makeup..but hate how you make me want to buy it all haha! x

  2. hahaha thanks Emma. Bobbi Brown Cream eyeshadows are amazing. I love the illusion D’ombre by Chanel too and think every girl needs to have at least one in their collection. I bought Moon River Eyeshadow stylo from Chanel’s latest collection and it is like a stick version of Illusion D’Ombre. It’s all about the car this month though. I have MOT, Service and Insurance all in one month, boo hoo

  3. The Illusion D’Ombre in Emerveille has been on my wishlist for months! These products are gorgeous, and you have wonderful taste. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Christie xoxo
    http://www.totallychristie.wordpress.com

  4. Yes its a gorgeous Egg Plant shade but very multi dimensional.

Leave a Reply

 
