Guerlain Terracotta 4 Seasons Bronzer, 01Blondes………..Is Pure Gold!

Hi Everyone,

Hope you’re all happy and well. I love Guerlain products and the Terracotta bronzers are no exception; in fact, they are famous for them and quite right to. I recently reviewed the absolutely stunning Guerlain Terra Ora and now want to focus on Terracotta 4 Seasons Bronzer in this post.

Guerlain Terracotta 4 Seasons Bronzer 001 Blondes

Previously, i have owned the Guerlain Terracotta Mosaic 001 Blondes Halees, which gives a subtle pink bronzed tone to the skin and is lovely on tanned skin as a blusher. I am now running out of this, (see pic below) and thought i would opt for one without the pink in it for a change.

Guerlain 4 Seasons Bronzer 001 Blondes Compact

Guerlain brought out more shades of the 4 seasons bronzer this summer to add to the collection. I like at least 3 of them but do not need them so i decided to opt for 01 Blondes, (not one of the new lines added).

Guerlain Terracotta 4 Seasons Bronzer

This one has 3 graduating shades of brown and one paler highlighting shade. It is ideal for pale to fair skin tones and can be used by swirling your brush through all four shades and applying with a large powder brush to the face or picking out various shades and using them to add colour, contour and highlight the face. I use it for both methods.

Guerlain Terracotta 4 Seasons 001 Blondes Compact

First, i swirl my Chanel powder brush in a circular motion once through all four shades and apply all over my face in a light sweep; then, i apply the darkest shade just under my cheekbones, the two mid shades on my cheekbones, temples and around my chin bone and the lightest highlighting shade on top of the cheekbones and down the centre of my face.

Guerlain 4 Seasons Bronzer 001 Blondes SwatchesGuerlain Terracotta 4 Seasons bronzer heavily swatched

Left pictured are heavy swatches of each colour from top left to bottom right of the palette. Right pictured is a heavy swatch of the 4 shades combined.

The Positive

There is no chunky glitter in this bronzer; however, it does leave a beautiful healthy looking, warm sheen to the face. The powder is very finely milled as you would expect from a high end product and also feels quite moisturizing when swatched and doesn’t dry out on the face either. Comes in a lovely brown casing in a velvet pouch.

Here’s the best thing about Terracotta bronzers. They are highly pigmented and never orange, unnatural or cheap looking. They last all day on the skin without fading or going patchy as well. It has a two year shelf life but my last one lasted much longer than that.

Guerlain BronzerSable rose(1)Chanel Terre Halle BronzerBronzer Swatches(1)

Note.  All swatches except the 4 seasons bronzer have golden glitter. The trend is now moving away from products containing heavy glitter and moving towards subtle shimmer.

The Negative

They’re not cheap! 10gms of product will set you back £46.50; however, it does contain gold, (known for aiding retention of collagen within the skin and creating a youthful appearance).  Websites such as http://www.escentual.com sell them at quite a bit less than the recommended price and the great pigmentation will make them last a long time too.

You do have to use a smaller brush if you want to single out the individual shades; but, a large brush swirled through the whole palette; very lightly, creates a beautiful natural healthy glow to the skin.

Overall Verdict

I use Dior and Chanel bronzers as well as Guerlain and i always seem to reach for the Guerlain one more often than the others. Not because of the quality but more because Guerlain 4 seasons bronzer, just has a lot more of a healthy glow on my skin and a very subtle multi-dimensional quality about it; although, the other two each have their own unique qualities about them as well.

A bronzer well worth considering if you want a natural healthy glow to the skin or want to enhance your tan even further.

What high end bronzers do you use, if any? Have fun and i will see you all soon. 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on August 12, 2013.

5 Responses to “Guerlain Terracotta 4 Seasons Bronzer, 01Blondes………..Is Pure Gold!”

  1. Chanel and Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick are the two bronzers I use but have used them both religiously for over ten years so I am restless with them both and ready for change! I was considering buying a Les Beiges in no.5 and using that as a bronzer? What do you think? Then again I will probably head back to Chanel in some shape or form as there is nothing as lovely as a their compacts! X

    • The Chanel moisturizing bronzing powders are lovely and have a fine shimmer to them Amanda. I love Guerlain ones so much though, they have the edge for me because they are super pigmented; however, the Number 40 Les Beiges may be dark enough for a bronzer if you have the same skin tone as me. Be careful that it doesn’t look orangey on the skin though, that’s something i noticed with the darker shades of Les Beiges. I am B20 in Chanel Foundation.

  2. My powder bronzer is by Benefit and I think it’s really good. I prefer to use liquid and cream products though and wish there were more to choose from. still, I’m oohing and aahing a lot over the guerlain ones and will probably buy one anyway.

    • I have quite oily skin so i can really only use the powders but i also use tanning gel for my face as well. Guerlain do do lovely bronzing powders and this one is very velvety in texture too. I haven’t tried any benefit products at all as of yet but they always look good.

      • benefit are hit or miss for me but I adore their bronzing kit. I thought the powder might be too dark for me, but it looks great. very buildable.

Leave a Reply

 
