September Favourites …………. A Slimming Down, Toning Up Update!

Hi Everyone,

How’s everything? Sorry about no August Favourites as i have been very busy but i do have a September one for you. i wanted to do an update on a post i wrote back in April called Slimming Down and Toning up.

Having allowed myself to get overweight over the past 6 years, i ended up with health issues as a result. These included problems with my knees, hips and breathing, (i have Asthma). Another scare came when an acquaintance of the same age, had a heart attack, (she’s doing fine now)but it did bring a lot of things home to me.

Adidas Climawarm and Running top

I decided it was time to address my health as well as my weight.

I thought about going on a diet but this does not address health so much, more the weight issue and i have never truly had any real long term success with diets. I wanted to make exercise a part of my daily life to the point that it became a routine thing and i believe i may have finally succeeded were the diets never have.

I jog and power walk for 30 minutes 5 mornings a week and do 10 minutes on hand weights, if time allows. This has been fantastic as i have lost 3 stone in weight; or, 42 pounds so far and i feel great. I’m getting back into clothes i haven’t worn in years too because i am now 3 dress sizes smaller.

I am a great believer in slowly does it , i was overweight for over 6 years, so whats a few more months?? Oh yeah and no problems with knees and my breathing is so much better too.

Don’t get me wrong, i’m not saying that i will never be overweight again because i am very much a realist who will have a life long battle with my weight; but, i believe i am a lot more in control, determined and seeing the weight come off has been a great motivation to keep going.

So about my favourites! I want to make them more about my running and fitness this time.

1. Adidas Running Clothing.

Love Adidas. The quality and breathability of their running gear is second to none and very long wearing. Some of my running clothes are 3 years old and still going strong. I have also just invested in winter climawarm clothing too and i hope i can get myself out of bed in the mornings when it’s dark and freezing. The real test is yet to come!

2.  A once weekly Chocolate Treat.

MerryteaserMerryTeaser 2

Why should i deny myself all the time? Exercise affords you the odd little treat whereas dieting doesn’t or should i say it doesn’t for me. When i was on diets previously, i would not give myself any treats and this is why i would end up caving in. I don’t do that anymore and i still eat a full Sunday roast too.

3. Philip Kingsley Elasticizer.

Philip Kingsley Elasticizer

A miracle in a tube. I got a mini size and this months In Style magazine is giving them away free,so go get it now, UK.

I run 5 days a week and my hair has been suffering a bit with constant washing it everyday. I read some great reviews about this product and i am going to do a full post about it later on. It just makes my hair amazing and shiny. It is a pre-treatment which you apply for 10 mins before washing and i tell you, brilliant results.

4. Face cream with a high SPF.

Solar 50+

I noticed this year because we had a great summer, my face got tanned a bit while i was running. I try to avoid any facial colouring at all for obvious reasons. So now, i make sure i moisturize my skin well, along with my stretches before going for a run each morning. It is essential even in low sunlight.

5.  Looking at myself in the mirror 😉

I’m not bragging but seriously, i can’t stop doing it lately. My legs have developed muscles i haven’t seen since i was 18 years old. The cellulite is disappearing every single day and i actually; for the first time in a very long time, look at myself and really like what i see. I have just bought a dress to show off my pins rather than constantly covering up all the time and i haven’t worn a dress in many years either. It’s great to feel confident again !!  Now i think i deserve a well earned cuppa!!ahhhh a well earned cuppa

I hope this post has inspired some of you to get out and get fit if you’re not already. Do you have a fitness routine? Have fun and i will see you all soon. 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on September 29, 2013.

4 Responses to “September Favourites …………. A Slimming Down, Toning Up Update!”

  1. Well done Mandy……very inspirational post! Xx

  2. congrats! this is great.

Leave a Reply

 
