Blogging One year on……………….. What i Have Learned?!

Hi Everyone,

Hope you’re all doing well. Yes one year today and i am still here fighting fit and (full of cold at the mo!) writing and still loving it. I cannot believe i would still be here as it hasn’t always been a breeze; however, i have learned so much about blogging along the way and i thought i would share my first anniversary post by letting you all know how it’s gone.

Me

So, what have i learned?

1.  That i do actually really love reviewing products and photography. 

My photography skills are slowly improving and i am planning at some point to buy myself a much better camera to aid that. My reviewing skills have also improved as i now try to think of everyone’s skin tones and types when i am reviewing products to give a more rounded, in depth review, which is something i did rarely in the beginning. I also am trying to make sure no photo is blurred or frayed and the product can be seen like its almost in ‘real life’.

2.  I am guilty of being addicted to stats.

I know!!!!  I do try to avoid looking at them but i just can’t help it. It gives me a real buzz when i see people from all over the world reading one of my posts or at least looking at the photo’s. It’s priceless and a fantastic ego boost and it makes it all so worth it.   😉

3.  I really like that other bloggers appreciate my posts.

It’s great having fabulous bloggers following me and i am not one who gets to hung up on the numbers, more that they are the right followers. I love reading other bloggers opinions on products too and never buy anything now without at least reading a few reviews from my fav bloggers and they always get it spot on. Its great to see what others have to say and their pics.

4. It’s a very expensive hobby.

Sadly, i have seen many bloggers come and go and that’s just in the year i have been posting. One reason why i started blogging was because i already owned a great deal of beauty products to begin with; therefore, i knew i could write a good  number of posts without really having to spend too much money. I also think that you can do other posts such as FOTD, NOTD etc, which does not require buying extra products either.

It can be an expensive hobby to have but as i love makeup anyway, i buy constantly and if i really don’t like something i can sell it on Ebay.  It is a statistical fact that most bloggers will disappear within 6 months -2 years, well hopefully that won’t be me.

5. Bad reviews are a deal breaker.

I have explained one of the reasons why i started my blog, another reason is that i have read some pretty awful reviews on products due to a lack of understanding of the product itself. Like the one were the girl bought a tan enhancing powder in exactly the same colour as her skin tone and then tried to say the product didn’t work!!! Or; the stylo was very tightly packed in the box so it was a bad design when; in fact, it was to stop the pencil from breaking if the box was dropped. This is just a couple of the bad reviews i have seen over the year but not the worst either. I will say i am far from perfect  and i make many mistakes too but i always do one thing and that is, to understand the product i review from its packaging down to the product itself before i write about it ; after all, my aim is to keep people wanting to read my posts and believing in them.

6. I never make promises.

No i don’t. I’m sorry but i cannot promise anyone 2-3 posts a week but i try to at least post twice weekly where possible. This is because my life is a little unpredictable and it can take me up to 2 hours to write a post and a further 30 minutes to take photos and edit them and i never get that free time every single week,

7. I am about to become mirifiquebeauty.com.

As as a treat to myself i have decided to pay for my blog. I didn’t for the past year because i never knew if i was going to keep it up but i now know i will for at least one more year if not more. This will give me greater control of it too and those unrelated ads which appear on my site, which i hate passionately. I will be keeping you all posted when i can finally get the time to change it.

Finally; I strongly believe in responding to comments made on my posts. I believe if someone takes time out of their day to read what i have written, then the least i can do is acknowledge that they did that. It really annoys me when others don’t do this. We are never more important than our readers!!

Thats’s enough about me and it’s back to reviewing products.

Thanks everyone for the past year and i hope to see you all in the next one 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on October 10, 2013.

16 Responses to “Blogging One year on……………….. What i Have Learned?!”

  1. Congratulations!!!! I hope that after a year I will enjoy blogging as much as you do. Your posts (although I would like them to appear more often :-() are always very informative, interesting and I always look forward to get an e-mail informing me that your new post is ready 😀 :-D. very happy for you xx

    • Thank you so much Serena i really appreciate that. I am in the process of doing some new reviews. Its been a bit difficult lately because i just became full time in work and have split days off sometimes but i have many reviews coming up soon. I hope they remain informative and interesting too. 🙂

  2. Good lessons! I believe this is a learning process that never really ends. We do things that work,that don’t work, that feel good, that don’t feel good, and that influences our next post and our next comments.

    It’s awesome, isn’t it?

  3. Congrats! Your blog is actually one of my very favorites and it’s nice to know how much you’ve improved over time! x

  4. Happy anniversary!!!

    http://www.fashionforlunch.wordpress.com

  5. Happy Anniversary……this blog has given me so much pleasure, made me a great friend who I have so much in common with and who’s opinion I trust and value and it’s given my beauty spending some much needed direction. Thanks Mandy. XxXx

  6. Happy Blog Birthday!
    I can say you’re one of my fav beauty blogs, always informative and lovely. I hope you’ll stay with us for a long time.
    (also, I find you update schedule perfect. I get stressed when I have to check daily for updates)

    • Thanks so much Dandygal. I really enjoy your posts too and love your reviews on Chanel items especially. Yes, even if i did get the time, i don’t think i would post daily, i think its a bit too much as well.

  7. Congratulations on making it to one year and not becoming another statistic! I agree about responding to comments. There are some people who don’t seem to respond to comments or read other people’s blogs – that makes me less interested in reading what they have to say on their own blogs.

  8. Happy blog birthday! 🙂 My first one is coming up next week. How exciting, and congratulations. 😀

Leave a Reply

 
