My Bargain Beauty Spend………….The New Micellar That Is Actually Worth The Hype.

Hi Everyone,

Rarely will you ever see a post from me praising high street beauty or skin care; however, if it’s good, i will shout it from the roof tops and i am about to do just that.

For quite a while now i have been eyeing the Bioderma Micellar Sensibo Cleansing Water. Because it can only be purchased on line, it’s put me off a bit. Its price is another issue for me. £10.00 for 250ml of product is just not good enough. Sorry! It can be purchased in France for next to nothing, so why do they need to mark the price up that much  in the UK?!!! It’s only across the channel after all. Rant over!  

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

Along comes Garnier, who have capitalized on the fact that Bioderma prices are just a bit over the top and have produced Micellar Cleansing Water for £4.99/400ml.

I bought this a few weeks ago from Boots and you can also purchase it here, https://www.boots.com and have been using it every night to remove my makeup. I’ve also been critically evaluating its efficiency at removing makeup and how it leaves my skin looking and feeling too.

The Water.

It is hypoallergenic, great for my sensitive skin, can be used for face, eyes and lips and contains no perfumes of any kind. In fact, i cannot smell anything off it at all. It’s main ingredients are water and glycerine.

It goes on like water and has a little moisturizing feel to it, only slightly though (glycerine). No toner is required after taking off the makeup and it leaves the skin looking cleansed and refreshed and soft at the same time. It also removes makeup effortlessly without having to rub hard.

I do follow my night time skin care routine afterwards as normal; however, i don’t believe you would have to if you have normal skin. I have combination/dry skin.

For a full face of makeup, i use 4 cotton pads with this product. Quite a small amount really. Normally i would use the same with a cream cleanser and then two more pads afterwards with toner.

It has up to 200 uses. I would say about 6-8 weeks use at a guess.

The Verdict.

This is a great product for removing my makeup and for a general cleanse as well. It feels as good as the Dior cleansing water i use and the Clarins one i have used in the past, at a fraction of the cost.

I obviously cannot compare it with Bioderma; although, Bioderma has the same main two ingredients and i will not be purchasing that now i have found this gem of a cleanser. It’s just so much easier to get hold of as well.

I urge you all to give it a go. It really is lovely on the skin, i can’t believe i’m saying that about a high street product but there you go. I even thought it was worth a whole post to itself.

Let me know what you think and until next time, have fun. 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on February 19, 2014.

10 Responses to “My Bargain Beauty Spend………….The New Micellar That Is Actually Worth The Hype.”

  1. You know I was wondering what the hell was with this Micellar cleansing thing. I didn’t know if I should get it on not but this came right in time because I’m about to finish my cleanser and I’ll replace it with this beauty 🙂

  2. I was so pleasantly surprised to see this on the shelves! Ingredients look good. Chances are high I’ll buy it, but I have two cleansers to use up first.

  3. I’ve been using Bioderma since Escentual sent me me freebie 100ml bottle at Christmas. Bye Bye La Prairie Cleansing Water at £62.00 for 150ml bottle. Hello 25% promotion days at Escentual for stocking up on Derma and Effaclar Duo (+). Add Embryolisse Lait Creme concentrate into the mix and my beauty regime has gone so much more High Street. Now I am feeling less guilt about buying a bit more high end make up……Tom Ford, Charlotte Tilbury and Burberry. Just three La Prairie staples to find replacements for and I’m totally out of their Luxe Skincare and saving a fortune! Xx

    • After using this, i will probably never use Bioderma tbh. Its just so overpriced for what it actually is and to think if you took a day trip to France, you can buy it for next to nothing over there. Sorry it’s lost out to Garnier on this occasion, but if i’m ever whisked off to France for a long weekend i will stock up. I am loving La Roche- Posay at the moment and its on 3 for 2 in Boots. I never really use high end skin care anyway because its usually full of perfume. I always try out the samples they give me though. I do love Chanel Sublimage Yeux

  4. This is a really interesting post Mandy. I’ve just used used up a small bottle of what is supposed to be the Holy Grail of these cleansers, Bioderma Sensibio H20 water (although they call it a ‘solution’) 100ml (tiny!) for £3.59. I was done!

    I also hated it, it made my eyes very sore and I needed loads (5 really soaked pads) to take all my make up off.

    Not only am I going to buy the Garnier one – I’m going to link this review to my one on Bioderma and people will be able to see the difference.

    Great post!

    • Thanks so much for that. I just think that Bioderma is so overpriced, personally. I didn’t use the garnier one to remove my mascara but do to remove my eyeshadow and eye pencil. I use a more oilier solution to get rid of my mascara and that’s because i wear two heavy coats of the stuff. Garnier one is deffo worth checking out though and you can get it in Boots and Superdrug. No doubt Tesco will have it soon as well.

  5. Thank you for showing this. I use Bioderma and will definitely switch to this Garnier one.

Leave a Reply

 
