Chanel Les 4 Ombres, 208 Tisse Gabrielle…….. The Smokin’ hot Quad!

Hi Everyone,

recently released was the Les 4 Ombres eyeshadow palettes from Chanel. The new quads also had a brand new formula and the colours are inspired by the famous 8 house tweeds, made famous by Gabrielle Chanel herself.

Chanel Tisse Gabrielle

I obviously had to take a closer look at the new eyeshadows on offer as i have a love/hate relationship with the original formula. I love Murano and hate Sequoia. Murano having lovely shades  with good pigmentation; whereas, Sequoia being bland and lacking pigmentation. I usually go for the soft touch single eyeshadows and the Illusion D’Ombre cream formulas by Chanel.

I do really adore three of the eight palettes on offer and will be reviewing one of them here.

Chanel 208 Tisse Gabrielle without flash

208 Tissé Gabrielle stood out to me almost immediately. One that looks quite hard to work with but isn’t at all. Dark smokey/taupe colours which make it highly unusual but on trend for a fabulous smokey eye.

The four shades consist of a deep purple/grey with pink shimmer, dark green with silver shimmer, a matte brown/grey and a lovely highlighting shade in a champagne beige.

Chanel Tisse Gabrielle Close Up

Above top left is green, top right is champagne, bottom left purple and right brown shades.                                                                                                          

I haven’t stopped wearing it yet since i bought it and i am getting great compliments on it.

I have used it in two combinations so far; which are, green all over the lid with the purple in the socket and vice versa, both with the highlighting shade in the inner corner of the eye and on the brow bone. The colours blend really easily into each other to give a lovely smokey eye. Great to pair with the new Smokey Grey waterproof stylo too, (review to come). I also used the waterproof stylo Silver Light, on my lower waterline.

Chanel Tisse Gabrielle swatches no flashChanel Tisse Gabrielle swatches

Above left without flash and right with flash. 

The new quad eyeshadows come with a booklet showing you how to apply the colours in four different ways but i normally do my own look.

The quality of the eyeshadows are quite outstanding; buttery smooth with no fall out and gone is the powdery finish lacking any pigmentation. (The talc has been removed). The shades are highly pigmented and there is now a touch more product, weighing in at 2g compared with the old baked formula which had 1.2g. They can be also used wet but i haven’t had too because the colours are very intense.

Chanel Tisse Gabrielle on my eyes

I actually think i prefer these shades to the square ones which we occasionally get in the UK and are widely available in the US. These formulas are pressed and can’t be used wet and mostly have a satin finish to them. The new formulas come in a variety of finishes, from matte; satin; shimmer and sparkle, which gives us so much more choice.

Pictured right is light application of Tissé Gabrielle for daywear. Can be built up for intensity and used wet for evening. 

At the moment, i haven’t found any negatives with this palette at all. It does what it says ‘on the tin’, which is good enough for me.

Well done Chanel for listening to the customer and upping their game on these baked eyeshadows.I can’t wait to try out more in the future. Have you tried any out yet? Which colours do you like? Any questions, please fire away.

Have fun and i will see you all soon. 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on April 13, 2014.

15 Responses to “Chanel Les 4 Ombres, 208 Tisse Gabrielle…….. The Smokin’ hot Quad!”

  1. They’re gorgeous colors!

  2. I hadn’t had a chance to try out the newly reformulated quads yet, but really can’t wait to get to them! Damnit, everytime I try to make it to the display panel at the back of the store I get distracted by something new!!

  3. I have Tisse Camelia and Tisse Gabrielle……not used them yet but just swatched. They are soo pretty but not as practical, for someone who uses eyeshadow periodically, as Ombres Matelasse from Christmas 2013.

    More exciting for me was that my Mum found me Jardin de Camelias Illuminating powder in Mumbai yesterday!!! Yay!!!!!

    And she also found me Dior Voyage Transatlantic Nail Polish Captain (750) and Sailor (210) which have the new Gel formula. The new Dior Gel formula polish is launched in UK any day now but the Sailor and Captain shades were US release only. Well supposed to be US only but with most things Dior they eventually find there way over here.

    Also can’t wait to try Dior Fluid Sicks Lip Hybrid but at £26 each I’ll only be trying one for now!

    I ordered Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet Foundation in Rose Beige (22) with Le Blanc de Chanel Illuminating Base. I ordered the base on the strength of Lisa Eldridge’s latest video for a Chanel but I also found a Chanel Le Blanc Light Revealing Brightening Make up Base Rosee (10) on ebay which is only US launch. I got that for £20 which was brilliant as the bases are usually £31.

    And just to round off my news Mandy I have started to try Hourglass Blush, Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder and Hourglass Primer. I had a stack of loyalty points at Space NK to use up. Fabulous product all of them with no Parabens.

    Now I just need a jolly good clear out of my ‘bought but not used’ on ebay to pay for it all.

    XxXx

    • Good for you Amanda. Maybe its time to start your own blog with all your purchases. Yes Captain and Sailor will be released in the UK but sadly, not fond of either personally. I am not a real nail polish buff myself, i just buy the odd one now and again. You go girl!

  4. I love the colors in this quad.

  5. I don’t think I could blog Mandy, it would feel disloyal to you and I neither have the photography skills, the confidence in my own appearances with my make up skills or the structure of what to buy and review. I like being guided by your reviews, Lisa Eldridge videos and The Beauty Look Book. All three sites have certainly reignited my love of all things beauty, cosmetic and style. So I feel really grateful to you for that. Xx

    • i would never see that as any way disloyal Amanda. It just seems to be you have such a passion for beauty it seems a shame that you don’t write about it. I wish i had a much better camera. What a nightmare to get a great, realistic shot that’s why i struggle to keep up with posts. I feel very flattered that you would even mention my name next to Lisa Eldridge as she is a real makeup artist and me, just an amateur and i love the photography skills of the beauty look book, fantastic. Thanks for that but still a shame you don’t do it yourself xx. I just buy what i want to and mostly it’s Chanel. I never buy for blogging although i did do that in the very beginning. It’s too expensive a hobby to think that way really. x

  6. Ahhh, so beautiful! x

  7. Gorgeous colours, especially the purple one.

    • I love this palette, venitien (although i think the colours may not be for me on that one) and Camelia, which is gorgeous too. Trying to get that one for my birthday present which is soon haha x

Leave a Reply

 
