April Favourites…………..and One Fail with No Silver Lining!

Hi Everyone,

April’s here. I know i’ve probably mentioned this before but this year is going so fast. This month has been hit and miss with the weather. I remember it being beautiful and sunny this time last year. Never mind, its more typical of British weather. Rubbish!!!

Last month, i have been using some products i hadn’t used for quite a while and needed some attention.Lovely as they are; but, as i have so many, some tend to be forgotten about. So lets jump right into my favourites for the past month and my one fail of the month too.

April Favourites

1. Guerlain Meteorites Illuminating Powder, Perles D’Or

Guerlain Meteorites Illuminating Powder Perles Dor

I’m still scratching my head trying to figure out why Guerlain felt the need to change the formula of these exquisite highlighting balls of colourful joy. I have at least 5 varieties of them and  they’re all fantastic in quality, application and overall finish on the skin. I also love the signature violet scent on them.Guerlain Meteorites Illuminating Powder Close Up

I can’t believe i had forgotten about these and now use them every single day. A small swash over the face after makeup application just leaves the skin with a luminous finish without being shiny and the odd hint of sparkle flashes when the light hits it. Divine and so glad i have them. The new formula is nice and the balls are bigger but these ones still do a fantastic job for me.

Perles D’Or contain pink, shimmering white, gold, beige, matte pink and purple with pink shimmer balls for a warm effect on the skin.

2. Guerlain Pigment 03 Fairy Pink

A product discontinued a good number of years ago, sorry! I have been using it to add an extra dimension in the centre of my eye when i use darker colours. It’s a lovely powder which packs a punch in pigmentation with no fall out and what a shame they’re not available anymore because its a beautiful colour.

Guerlain Fairy Pink Pigment PackagingGuerlain Pigment in Fairy Pink Swatch

3. Gucci Rush Eau De Toilette Natural Spray

A perfume which has been sitting around for a good couple of years and i don’t know why because i really like it. It was a present and i have to admit, i hate the packaging but i do really love the perfume for day wear. It is quite a sweet floral scent and a little bit goes a very long way. It is more like an Eau de parfum rather than eau de toilette, in my opinion.

4. NARS  Bronzing Powder, LagunaNARS Bronzer Laguna

Well, i’ve hit pan on this one. I do use this quite a bit and like the overall finish on it. It can become a bit muddy if you’re not careful but it just gives a lovely glow to the skin. I’ll probably use all my others up first before i repurchase; however, i still have a good way to go with this one yet before it’s gone.

5. Chanel Les 4 Ombres Eyeshadows, 16 Murano

Even though Chanel have introduced the new much improved formula Les 4 Ombres Eyeshadows, i still adore this one so much by Chanel. It’s the old version of the Tissé Venitien quad.

Chanel Les 4 Ombres Murano Swatch

The four shades are a pale powder blue highlighting shade, a mid-toned very pigmented teal, dusky pink and a dark intense teal with pale blue sparkles for the socket. Beautiful! In a word. The new shades include metallic silver as the highlighting shade and more intense versions of the other colours i’ve just mentioned. I have never applied this quad wet because i have never had to. It’s one of Chanel’s older ones they got very right.

Out of all the eyeshadows and combinations of eyeshadows i own, i get the most comments on this one and the new Chanel Tissé Gabrielle eyeshadows. I guess that speaks volumes about the Chanel quads old and new.  Say whatever you like about them, Chanel do get the colour combinations in their quads absolutely spot on and they are so easy to work with.

6. Soleil Tan De Chanel Moisturizing Bronzing Powder, 617 Terre Hâlée

Chanel Moisturizing Bronzing Powder Close up

Besides the NARS Laguna, i have also been using my Chanel bronzing powder in the limited edition shade Terre Hâlée. This offers a good shimmering bronze brown shade to the skin. It is highly pigmented and where NARS can get muddy if applied to heavily, this doesn’t happen at all with the Chanel one. I put this one on when i have forgotten to apply facial tan. Buildable while still giving a natural tan finish.NARS and Chanel Bronzing Powders

Pictured right. Left swatch NARS bronzing powder and right is Chanel moisturizing bronzing powder. NARS offers a brown with added shimmer which gives a warm glow to the skin; while, Chanel is more of a warm brown, which offers a more natural tanned effect when blended out.    

7. Diorshow Extase Mascara

Diorshow Extase Mascara One Coat

My holy grail mascara. Gives me long, thick curling lashes, which in turn makes my eyes looks larger. Love it so much! No smudging, or clumping. 10gms of product for the same price as most other high end brands which only contain 6/7 gm. No more needs to be said really.

And now for my one fail 😦

8. Nail Lacquer. On A Silver Platter.

Essie 291 Silver on a Platter

I bought this new offering from Essie. It has a lovely yellow gold base with silver and gold mini sparkling spheres and larger purple, blue and multi shimmering spheres. Really gorgeous to look at in the bottle and on the nails; however, it has no staying power whatsoever. Once i applied it on my nails, (i also applied a good top coat too) it literally peeled straight back off again. One nail had no polish on it after just half an hour. Complete waste of £10.00 and i usually love Essie nail polishes. Forget this one peops. Its a waste of money and time.Essie Silver on a Platter on my nails

What are your April favourites or fails? Have fun and i will see you all soon. 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on April 30, 2014.

12 Responses to “April Favourites…………..and One Fail with No Silver Lining!”

  1. love it!

    http://www.fashionforlunch.net

  2. I just picked up On a Silver Platter, too, but it has worn great so far! I did put a base color underneath, so perhaps that has helped.

  3. while the whole essie collection that contains this polish was mediocre, it could be the top coat that made your polish pop right off again. when they have different densities (or whatever idk) they really don’t like each other. happens most often with quick dry top coats.

    • Well i’ve learned something new today. I have been using the Dior Gel Coat and it has also just happened with a Chanel polish too. Only not as quickly and it was only one nail. I will bear that one in mind in future though. Thanks for that hun xx

  4. I rather like Deborah Lippman nail polish for the glittery ‘fun’ effect polishes. I also have an OPI called Wondrous Star which is very nice too. Deborah Lippman are £18 but can be bought on Look Fantastic on a 20% off day and OPI are always really good value. My current favourites are Burberry for the fabulous colour palette and Dior with the super new Gel finish in all colours. Surely Chanel have to follow suit with this Gel finish? I have my Guerlain Crazy Pearls which I adore but I find the smell of Violette a bit sickly and ‘old lady’. Remember those blue violet sweets? It reminds me of those! I’m still searching for a holy grail mascara…….I have a Tom Ford and a Charlotte Tilbury to try next but I am very seriously considering eyelash extensions! Xx

    • I adore that smell because of parma violets and it just gives their products that luxurious edge. Like Chanel does with Rose. I think of Lavender as more old lady smell tbh.
      I am lucky, i have very long thick eyelashes that curl easily, so if a mascara doesn’t work for me, it has to be very poor like YSL ones, which are horrendous and worst than some high street £5 ones. I think Dior and Lancome have got it spot on with mascara and i love Le Volume from Chanel too. The Dior Maximizer is wonderful. Review to come. Thanks for sharing your favourites xx

  5. I think it’s my age Mandy…….until two years ago I had really dark, long natural eyelashes. Now they are so pale without Mascara that I’m hard pressed to see them. Eyebrows have gone ‘blonde’ too so much so in some lights without any make up on I almost look like I have no eyebrows. Either that or it’s medication that’s done it. Luckily my beautician does eyelash tiny, eyebrow shape and polish all for £20 so every four weeks isn’t so bad.

  6. Well i guess there’s a reason why the Guerlain Meteorites Illuminating Powder has been so popular over the past years. Look at that product! It’s gorgeous!

    • I love them Luchessa. They do a fantastic job on the skin too. I have started using them all now and i would deffo repurchase in the future. The fragrance on them is heaven too. Worth the money. There is very little that disappoints me about Guerlain. They just ooze class and quality from the product to it’s packaging.

  7. I love Guerlain’s new packaging!!

Leave a Reply

 
