Two Years Blogging………….What I Learned This Year.

Hi Everyone,

I can’t believe i’m still here doing my blog. Hang on! Yes i can. I love doing my blog and the only way i’m giving it up is if real life takes over for whatever reason; but until then, i am keeping on doing something i love and am proud of.

So what if anything, have i learned this year about blogging.

1. The truth is out there!

I’m sorry but i don’t like bloggers/You Tubers who do not inform their followers of any products they are receiving for consideration. It just annoys me so much and sadly; it means i have to question if their review is a really honest one. On the other hand, i love bloggers who do let their followers know and i follow a few, who offer a great deal of honesty while keeping their integrity as a blogger.

Yes, i can tell the difference too, especially when they are reviewing products not yet officially released.

The-Simpsons-08x10-The-Springfield-Files

2. Don’t pay any attention to Internet Trolls.

Yes, they’re out there and in their droves. I have only received 3 very nasty comments in the past two years from them.

It doesn’t really bother me to be honest. I found one of the three comments quite funny and realized that i must be doing something right or i wouldn’t be getting any at all.

What i mean is, they have used their precious time to write to you and obviously, you have touched them in some emotive way for them to want to contact you to begin with. Keep doing what you do best bloggers.

3. Be true to your blog.

I want my blog to remain focused on products i enjoy using.

I don’t have an incredible amount of followers as some bloggers do; however, i do have a high number of hits to my site and believe that somBe true to your bloge people check in regularly without actually following me. (I also do that with blogs i love which are not on WordPress).

I am not about to start buying high street makeup to gain hundreds more followers. (unless the product is fantastic of course) that’s not what i’m about. I have a niche blog, admittedly and i’m staying true to it because i love it. I think that people who follow me or come back repeatedly, do so because they know what they are getting every time without fail.

4. Swatches and pictures all the time, everytime.

I often scroll through the many blogs out there looking for reviews of new and existing products i don’t yet own. I get excited when i hit on a photograph showing a fab new Chanel eyeshadow i don’t own and can’t wait to see all the pics and swatches to get a ย real and true picture of what it looks like. Imagine then, my disappointment when that’s the only picture the blogger has posted!

I want swatches and close up photos in natural light, (where possible of course) and not just one photo or even worst; official press pictures unless it’s about up and coming products not yet released. Then that’s fair enough!

Yes, i understand that you just splashed out your hard earned cash and no way are you wasting a milligramme of it on the back of your hand; however, that’s why people hit your site because they want to see the actual product in all it’s glory or horror, whichever the case may be. Even one swatch is better than none.

5. Write positive posts whenever possible.

There’s nothing i love more than some one raving on about the great product they have just bought and can’t stop using. Fab! On the other hand i also love the ‘most disappointing products’ posts too. They can be very informative and help save me a pretty penny. The posts/vids i hate are the ones with constant personal rants in them (a famous YouTuber springs to mind here, lol).Stop ranting image

Lets talk beauty and leave the bad day at work or the shop assistant with an attitude for another time!! Everyone will love you for it. (I’m scrolling down to check i never ranted in any of my posts other than this one ha!). ๐Ÿ˜‰

6. I still haven’t become a dotcom yet!

dotcomI promised in my 100th post that i was going to do it. Not sure why i haven’t taken the plunge yet. I guess i’m still waiting until i hit 1000 followers and then i probably will do. I’m also still wanting a great camera but that’s one i have to be really careful on. I tend to take many pictures in low light, so getting the right camera is super important. I do have one in mind though and i still think my current camera isn’t too bad.

Finally! I am pleased to report i never became one of the blogging statistics. even if this was going to be my last ever post i still made it through the 6-18 months mark. That’s when most bloggers quit and sadly; many, whose posts i have enjoyed in the past have. ๐Ÿ˜ฆlaptop and coffee

There you go. I hope this offered some useful information to new comers of the blogging world and your thoughts and tips would be greatly appreciated.

All being well, i should have some more tips in year three. Back to it then!

Take care and i will see you all soon. ๐Ÿ˜‰

~ by Mirifique Beauty on October 10, 2014.

9 Responses to “Two Years Blogging………….What I Learned This Year.”

  1. thank you for your lovely blog. I always value your opinion. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congrats lovely! One of my favourite blogs! ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  3. Yes to everything you said here!! I’ve often considered leaving blogging because of how hard it is to get over the hump. I’ve learned after a year of trying different things, that I do it for people who are like me. Interested in inspiration and facts.

    I hope someday the whole point of the beauty blogging world returns to what it was meant to be! Helpful to the normal person..

    • Well said Llewsoba. That is the whole point of blogging really. I love giving info on products because of how expensive they are and how brands use a lot of marketing trickery to get us to part with our hard earned cash, including using bloggers. If the product is crap and i paid a lot for it, everyone’s going to know about it and that’s how it should be. Fortunately, it rarely happens now because i make sure i try products out before i buy where i can. Thanks for your feedback xx

      • I try things I’m interested in, and sometimes that’s new products, that are often sold out in record time becauae of one or two bloggers. : /

    • Yes i know what you mean and probably who they are too. I still wait until the real bloggers do their reviews before i buy them though and check out the ‘others’ for the swatches only. Often real bloggers have a different view point to them.

Leave a Reply

 
