Battle of The Body Oils …………Which One Cuts Through The Grease?

Hi everyone,

I have been getting into my body oils in a big way lately. My skin can become dry in the winter and especially when I’ve been swimming. I love body creams and lotions too but when you’re in a hurry, body oils apply quicker and dry much quicker. Or do they?

Battle of The Body Oils

I have 5 at the moment and all are very different. Three are for the face, hair and body, one for the body and hair and one for the skin. So which one is the best?

1.The Body Shop Chocomania Beautifying Oil. Dry Oil for Face, Body and Hair. 100ml/£9.00

The most inexpensive of the lot. It is a fairly viscose oil with a lovely chocolaty smell. I want to eat it mmm. Contains nut oils and community fair trade marula oil. Unfortunately, it struggles to dry down and when i have used it after a shower in the gym, i notice marks on my clothing. I will never use it on my face and it is quite thick for my fine hair, so i have avoided using it in my hair too.

I think this one is a great for people with very dry skin and i would apply it in tiny amounts. A very nice fragrance though and is available in many other fragrances too. I give it 6 out of 10 for this reason and it’s price.       6/10

2. L’Occitane Almond Supple Skin Oil. 100ML/£35.00

Another fairly viscose oil. This oil is for the skin only. It has a beautiful sweet almond fragrance to it, which reminds me of Bakewell Tart. Yum!  It contains 50% almond and Camelina oil, which contains Omega 3 and 6.

It comes with a spray to avoid using too much at a time, which is a huge bonus as this is not a cheap oil. This does dry down after about ten minutes and it has great moisturizing properties. Very good for the elbows. I am giving this 8 out of ten as it has the best fragrance and works well on the skin too. The price is a little hefty.  8/10

3. L’Occitane Fabulous Oil. Body & Hair. 100ml/£29.00.

This one is more of a dry oil in the sense that it does dry down fairly well and gives a fragrance similar to baby powder, which is lovely. Reminds me of when i was a child and i used talcum powder.

It contains two rare oils from Africa which are, baobab and desert date palm oils.

I haven’t tried it out on my hair yet  Great if you want to get dressed 10 minutes after applying as it doesn’t leave any residue on clothing. It also uses a spray for application.    9/10

4. Roger & Gallet Huile Sublime Bois D’Orange Perfumed Dry Oil. Face, Body and Hair. 30ml/£12.00 

I am slightly disappointed with this one. The fragrance is my least favourite, (warm oranges). It contains orange essential oil and Vitamin E.

It dries down quite well though and once again, i haven’t tried it out on my hair or face. I will not repurchase this one; however, there are other fragrances available in this range.  I like that it comes in a smaller bottle for travelling too.   7/10

5. Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse Multi-Purpose Dry Oil. Face, Body, Hair.  100ml/£28.00 and 50ml/£17.00Nuxe Body Oils

I have saved the best until last. This one has a lovely subtle fragrance, which isn’t over powering at all. Sweet floral. The oil itself is very light and makes my skin lovely and soft while drying down very quickly. It is also fabulous on the ends of the hair too. Non greasy and leaves hair very soft. I haven’t used it on my face.

It’s composed of 97.8% natural ingredients containing Vitamin E and 6 plant oils which are; sweet almond, borage, macadamia, hazelnut, camellia and St. Johns Wort.

A great price for its quality and leaves no residue on clothing either. Comes in a golden shimmer variety, although i’m not too fond of the fragrance of that one. Also available in a smaller size for travelling.           10/10

Do you use any body oils? Which are your favourite body moisturizers? Take care and i will see you all soon. 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on November 8, 2014.

10 Responses to “Battle of The Body Oils …………Which One Cuts Through The Grease?”

  1. I love the almond L’Occitane range! I do like body oils sometimes since my skin is dry. I like the Kora Organics rosehip body oil and Go-To Skincare’s exceptionoil 🙂

  2. I have the body shop oil in the cocoa butter scent. I love the smell. So far I’ve only used it in my hair when I wear a ponytail, makes it shiny and not too greasy. However lately my hair has been hard to brush, not sure if there’s a connection.

    • I think they repackaged it and are now calling it Cocoa Butter. It is a lovely scent. The Nuxe one has done wonders for my hair though and its so light. I have super fine hair so most oils would just give me lank hair. The ingredients used in the Nuxe oil are also present in most hair oils. If you can get hold of it, give it a try. x

      • I’d love to have Nuxe. *sigh*

        No I am sure that Cocoa Butter an Chocomania are two different ranges. They stand on the shelf next to each other. Chocomania is even sweeter.

      • Oh right. They must have got rid of it here then because i haven’t seen it for a while. I think Nuxe will branch out because they are a growing company and very popular. Ren are also very good too. x

  3. I have tried all the you reviewed oils except for the Roger&Gallet one! But the one I have repurchased was another one: the Caudalie Divine Oil! Non-greasy, it doesn’t weight my hair down and the scent is to die for! 🙂 xx

  4. I love the smell of baby powder! I will definitely be picking up the L’Occitane one. Would you say it’s really hydrating?

Leave a Reply

 
