Dior Nude Air Healthy Glow Serum Foundation…………………….First Impressions!

Hi Everyone,

Just released in the UK is the new Dior Nude Air Serum Foundation. As with all foundations i buy, i make sure i get samples to try first otherwise i don’t buy them. I have wasted a ton of money in the past on foundations that just don’t work on my skin.

Diorskin-Nude-Air-Serum-and-Powder-Details

I managed to get hold of samples in the shades 20 (my usual in Dior) and 30, a more medium toned beige that i normally use in the summer when my skin has a bit more colour.

Dior Nude Air Foundation 2015Initial Thoughts.

The actual foundation comes equipped with a dropper. This is a foundation very similar to YSL Fusion Ink in that it is very liquid in formulation.

When i first saw the sample, i thought it would never cover my face and my problem areas. It did very well considering i had none spare to try and build up on my problem areas. It also appeared darker in colour than other Dior foundations i have used in the past in the shade 020; however, it sheered out with a warm and natural tone on my skin.

I used my light coverage foundation brush (as Dior recommends with this foundation) to apply product and it blended out and dried to a velvety finish instantly. Very easy and quick to work with. A great plus point for me in the morning.

The finish was a natural radiant matte. It felt completely weightless on the skin like i was never wearing any foundation at all. My skin never felt dry or looked cakey in any way.

DIOR-Diornude-Nude-Air-Serum-de-Teint

What Dior Says.

Dior have created a weightless feeling foundation that is oxygen activated. Has essential oils such as plant, vitamins and minerals for great skin care and hyper-oxygenated Cranberry oil, which is aerated to help breathe life into skin cells.

It has a SPF25 and there are face powder, compacts and bronzing compacts to accompany the foundation.

Diorskin-Nude-Air-Powders-Protect-Against-PollutionThere is evidence that air pollution creates stress on the skin and in the deeper layers of the skin to. People who live in the country have better skin than city dwellers. The ultra-light powders allow the skin to breathe while stopping the absorption of harmful substances from the air. They contain vitamins, minerals and sweet orange extract. Both versions will be available in 4 shades. There will be 6 shades of nude tan compacts too. £36 for loose powder and £35 for compacts. The loose powder appears more effective against polution.

Foundation is £33/30ml

Face without foundation(1)Dior Nude Air Foundation on face(1)Dior Nude Air Foundation Completed Look

Above left without makeup, middle with Nude Air Foundation, right is completed look. Excuse the wet hair but i wanted to give a true reflection of the foundation and i dry my hair after i complete my makeup. Even though my camera is not the best, you can still see how radiant the foundation is.

Makeup worn on the right along with Nude Air is; Chanel Eye Brow Pencil, 30 Brun Natural; Dior Extase Mascara; Dior Fusion Mono Eyeshadow, 531 Myriade; Chanel Joues Contraste Blush, 190 Angélique; Chanel Bronzing Powder, 617 Terre Hâllée; Chanel Lip Defining Pencil, 91 Rose Délicat and; Dior Rouge Baume Lipstick, 668 Cotillon. Reviews to come.

Comparisons.

It doesn’t cover my problem areas quite as much as i would like it to (90%); however, i still prefer this one to Dior Star Foundation because it works incredibly well with my oily T-zone. Star just melted off my skin whereas; Nude Air stayed put all day with the smallest amount of shine after approx. 4 hours. It also stayed true to colour on my skin.

I’m currently using Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet, which i absolutely love and where, Nude Air only covers my problem areas up to 90%, Chanel Velvet covers completely with the exact same finish to the skin. Chanel Velvet and Aqua Lumiere are quite weightless too.

I love the finish so much more than the YSL Fusion Ink Foundation. Admittedly though; i do have a darker shade in the FI as i bought it last summer and it doesn’t work so well with my lighter winter skin, it doesn’t seem to illuminate the skin as much either.

Dior Capture Totale Serum Foundation; which is the one being discontinued to introduce Nude Air, i think !!!! Is a lovely foundation but is much heavier in coverage. Nude Air is a much more modern advanced version of this one.

DIOR-Diorskin-Nude-Tan-Bronzing-Powder-Shades

Final Verdict. 

I really do like this foundation. It gives a lovely natural radiant finish to the skin and the fact that it may protect my maturing skin is only a bonus; although i can’t help but think that all foundations give a protective layer to the skin. Nude Air doesn’t settle into any lines either.

SPF25 is another plus point for me with regards to the sun causing premature skin ageing. It has PA++, which apparently offers protection against the most harmful of all the sun rays. That’s great news for everyone’s skin.

The only real negative i could find other than not completely covering my imperfections, is that it doesn’t come in many shades, 7 in fact! There is only one shade available for women of colour. Hopefully more shades will come later on.

Chanel Emilienne on lips(2)

Above Dior Nude Air worn on another occasion with Dior eyeshadows, Golden Reflections; Bobbi Brown Kohl Eye Liner, Storm; Dior Kohl Stick, 039 Pearly Silver, Dior Extase Mascara; Chanel Joues Contraste Blush, 86 Discrétion; Chanel Lip Pencil, Pink Sugar and; Dior Rouge Baume Lipstick, 660 Coquette. 

I will buy this foundation because i love the weightlessness to it, my skin is healthy and alive looking and even though it dries down to a matte finish, it still glows!

If you want a light coverage foundation that leaves your skin looking illuminated without shine, while offering protection against environmental pollutants, then this is for you.

I am very excited by the Nude Air collection of foundations, powder compacts and loose powders and cannot wait to try the foundation and powder together. Lovely product and best Dior has produced to date. Well done Dior! 🙂DIOR-Diorskin-Nude-Air-Loose-Powder

Have you tried Dior Nude Air Healthy Glow Ultra-Fluid Serum Foundation, Oxygen Activ Yet? Phew! What a title! Let me know your thoughts.

Take Care and I will see you all soon. 😉

Disclaimer. I have combination normal skin with an oily t-zone and do not know how this foundation will work on drier skin types.

~ by Mirifique Beauty on February 15, 2015.

10 Responses to “Dior Nude Air Healthy Glow Serum Foundation…………………….First Impressions!”

  1. Thanks for the review Mandy – you’re looking amazing btw!

    My ‘thing’ with Dior foundations is that I find them very ‘yellow’ on me. I don’t know if it’s true, but I was told at a make up counter than foundation made by French brands are more yellow toned to suit ‘sallow’ French complexions.

    You’re absolutely right regarding samples, if cosmetic companies wised up, they’d realise that if we had decent sized samples to try, we’d be more likely to buy them!

    • I must admit Ann-Marie there is a bit of a yellow tone to my skin as well as pink. More yellow at the edges and pinker around nose area. I know Chanel’s Perfection Lumiere Velvet has a touch more of pink to it than Dior foundations do and i guess that’s why i suit both really. I use 20 in Chanel foundations and 22 is deffo a rose shade in Velvet. It may be worth you looking at that one. I love that foundation as it covers and is very light weight too.
      I had to beg the new SA at Dior to give me two tiny samples. It was shocking. The usual SA who knows how much i spend at the Dior counter wasn’t there. I was getting a little bit annoyed with her TBH.
      I remember i asked once for a sample of foundation at YSL and she snootily told me that YSL don’t do samples. This is why i have always stuck with Chanel. Fabulous service everytime. They are very clever them ladies and as a result get most of my money.
      Thank you for reading my post and the compliment. xx

  2. That’s interesting Mandy, my skin is pale, but VERY pink. If I don’t liven it up with Clarins Radiance Booster fake tan then I look like an embarrassed ghost.

    We all know they DO have samples, but they’re keeping them for themselves or to flog on eBay, it really is so annoying!

    • I haven’t really tried any Clarins products. I have pale skin as you can see. I know and they often give samples out to their friends and family. Anyhow, the YSL SA never lasted very long and the current one is lovely. I can’t imagine the previous one getting many sales.
      I also have to mention that whenever Chanel bring out special collections, they often do unique freebies for customers and my SA always saves them for me. I got a travel wash bag at Christmas, i have had a lipstick carrier, mirror, a goodie box and a makeup bag. All have the Chanel logo on them, now that’s what i call doing business. I have never been refused a sample yet by Chanel unless they just don’t have any. Clinique are also very tight with samples and i hate that yellow moisturizer they do. I do like some of their foundations though and they are a good price. Sorry i’m now waffling!

  3. If I could only recommend one self tan product (for the face) then it would be Clarins Radiance-Plus Golden Glow Booster – drops of concentrated fake tan mixed with the moisturiser/serum of your choice – foolproof!

    I was going to say that about Chanel – always very generous to loyal customers. Ha! Nothing like the double C logo is there?

  4. This sounds amazing! Perfect for summer when you want to keep it light 🙂

  5. Loved your review

Leave a Reply

 
