The MB Beauty Awards………….Outstanding Beauties of 2015.

Hi eveyone,

All a bit tongue in cheek with the title there; however, i am very serious about picking my 2015 beauty winners. They have to either Wow me or be consistently good and most importantly, be worth the money.

MB Beauty Award winners for 2015

Here are my outstanding beauties of 2015.

PRODUCT/LIFESAVER/CANNOT BE WITHOUT.

Tigi S Factor Flat Iron Shine Spray.

I will never be without this! It’s simply amazing. I spray this into the ends of my hair just before running the irons through it. Keeps hair free from further damage and doesn’t make it greasy either. It is a super fine, has a nice fragrance and doesn’t make my fine hair lank.

BEST OVERALL MAKEUP PRODUCT.

Bobbi Brown Greige Eye Palette.

2015 saw the release of a number of basic eye palettes from various brands. All containing neutral shades for every day wear.

Bobbi Brown Greige Eye Palette PackagingBobbi Brown Greige Eye Palette Ambient Light

Bobbi Brown knocked it out of the park with the greige palette for me. This palette has the perfect nuances of browns/greys/beiges in matte, mild shimmer, sparkle and satin finishes. I love creating a slight smokey eye with this one and i get endless comments when i wear it. It flatters my eye shade so well. I have worn this one the most in the latter half of this year, since it’s release. Full review is here.

MOST EFFECTIVE MAKEUP PRODUCT.

Sorry but i had to pick two here.

Chanel Intense Kohl Eye Pencil, 17 Rouge Noir.

Chanel Intense Eye Pencil Close UpChanel intense khol pencil 17 Rouge Noir swatch

I have never been able to wear black or very dark eye pencils. They bring out the red in my eyes, sadly.

Chanel released this eye pencil in their holiday collection 2015 and i was smitten instantly. Seen in my FOTD.FOTD Chanel Holiday Signe Particulier(1)

It is a very dark raisin shade, a reddish/black which falls in line with the whole collection being based around the Iconic Rouge Noir nail colour.

I can finally wear a dark shade that has enough warmth to seriously flatter and bring out the best in my eyes that i just hope there is a demand to bring this pencil back permanently. I only bought one and it’s sold out.

Dior Mono Eyeshadow Fairy Grey.

Dior Kingdom of Colours Mono Eyeshadow 45 Fairy Grey Close upReleased in 2014. I couldn’t leave this out. A lovely iridescent multi- faceted grey eyeshadow. This one works applied on the top of others and applied sparingly. It adds a beautiful extra dimension to the eyes, especially when worn with more matte shades. It is another one i get a lot of compliments on when i wear it. Full review here.

Sadly; the camera doesn’t capture the true beauty of this eyeshadow.

BEST NEW/BEAUTY DISCOVERY IN 2015.

Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Lift and Firm Day Cream SPF 30PA++

I had been trying to find the right combination of day and night skin treatments for quite some time. Over the whole of 2015, in fact.

My criteria was, great product for day wear with good SPF, non-irritating, non-greasy, did not interfere with makeup, gave fine line reduction and worked well in conjunction with night time skin care products, which are not necessarily from the same company and great price point.

This was the product that ticked every box i just mentioned. It’s fantastic and plumps and firms the skin very well. Ideal for maturing skin.

EA really need to up their game in the Marketing/Advertising Dept. They produce some amazing products worthy of the high end tag and yet; they are found in thrift stores as well as John Lewis, Selfridges; etc. Something very wrong with that!

BEST SKINCARE PRODUCT.

Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair Serum.

This won last year too. A cult skin care classic. It deserves it’s success.Advanced Night Repair

I have tried £200 creams and many lotions and potions over 2015 and i always come back to this.

It works very well in conjunction with all my other products and leaves my skin plumped, line reduced and fresh looking every morning.

In fact, i actually notice the difference in my skin when i run out of it. Think lines and sagging! NOT GOOD! Nothing more needs to be said really.

MOST SUCCESSFUL PRODUCT LAUNCH/RE-LAUNCH IN 2015.

Chanel Rouge Coco Lipsticks, 424 Edith.

Chanel Rouge Coco Lipstick 424 Edith

Chanel wins this category for the second year in a row.

My most favourite formula and lip shade this year. A lovely soft warm pink shade that brightens my face.Chanel Rouge Coco Lipstick 424 Edith Swatch in lower light

There is no getting away from the quality of Chanel lipsticks in general. They are worth every penny. It says it all when Chanel released their Rouge Coco shine lipsticks (another favourite formula of mine) that two other high end brands followed suit the following year and charged more for their versions and were no better in quality !!!!!

BEST PAMPERING/BATH /SHOWER PRODUCT.

L’Occitane 100% Vegetable Soap, Almond.

Anything with almond from L’Occitane could have won this category. I love the Almond shower oil and milk concentrate too.

Their products are expensive; however, they last ages, so worth the money. The almond range has a lovely sweet scent and feels very pamper worthy.

PERFUME/FRAGRANCED PRODUCT OF 2015.

Givenchy live irrésistible eau de parfum.

I really love the light rose scent of this gorgeous perfume. It was released in 2015 as another installment of the Live range. I never really liked the previous versions but i’m smitten with this one.Givenchy Live Irresistible perfume

I also love the bottle shape which is, a great dressing table bottle.

BEST HAIR CARE PRODUCT.

Kérastase Sérum Thérapiste. Dual Treatment Fiber Quality Renewal Care.

Kerastase Serum TherapisteIt’s so difficult to whittle this down to just one product because i love so many, especially by Kérastase.

This one is a clear winner and actually gives the ends of my hair moisture and bounce.

The therapist range is all amazing and its the latest from Kérastase.

This serum targets dry, damaged hair. It gives life back to frizzy ends where my hot irons and hairdryer do the damage. A pea sized amount in the ends of damp hair results in fantastic hair.

BEST MAKEUP TOOL.

Bobbi Brown Angled Eyeshadow Brush.

Bobbi Browm Angled Eyeshadow BrushAnother difficult one to narrow down. Her ultra precise eyelining brush is fantastic too.

The reason why the angled eyeshadow by bb gets my top marks is, it is a lovely soft natural hair brush that still holds it’s shape really well. Great for multi-function use. I use it for placing colour on my eyelid close to my lashes for a more precise targeted application, for the outer v and socket.

I have washed this brush many times and it has never shed a single hair or lost it’s shape and it doesn’t scratch or splay out either.

MOST LUXURIOUS BEAUTY PRODUCT FROM 2015.

Guerlain Météorites Flocons Enchantés Light Enhancing Powder.

Guerlain Meteorites Perles de Neiges packagingGuerlain Meteorites Perles de Neiges 4 shades

I know i can’t stop mentioning these wonderful little balls of light. Light is the Elixir of youth!

Thing is, Guerlain has won this category for the second year in a row. Guerlain do powder products brilliantly as well as fragrance, of course.

This is a lovely, well packaged gorgeous gift idea and just a stunning highlighter. Full review is here.

THE ONE I GOT SO WRONG LAST YEAR!

Dior Star Foundation. SPF 30 PA ++

Dior Star FoundationI placed this in my most overhyped product release for 2014 last year. Read here.

I didn’t like this foundation when it was released in the summer of 2014. I still would say, i probably won’t use it during the summer time; however, Autumn/Winter time, this foundation is fantastic.

It really gives my skin a healthy glowing look. A must with ageing skin. Full review Here.

It blends effortlessly, gives medium coverage, dries matte and yet looks and feels like you have no foundation on at all. I really like Dior and Chanel foundations and this is the best one Dior have ever produced in my opinion (for cooler months).

There you have it. My best of 2015.

I had quite a good year in 2015. I do consider myself very lucky! Not everyone can say this and some years have been awful for me too. I hope 2016 continues the lucky trend for us all. Take care and i will see you all soon. 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on January 1, 2016.

8 Responses to “The MB Beauty Awards………….Outstanding Beauties of 2015.”

  1. *rushes off to buy Kérastase Sérum Thérapiste* I was waiting to read a positive review of it by someone I trust.

    I agree re Chanel Rouge Coco Lipsticks, Edith is too pink for me. Monte Carlo was a favourite, but this past year I’ve been wearing Boheme, it’s a clear coral that I ‘dilute’ with a nude to take the edge off the coral-ness.

    In the summer I bought a bottle of Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair Serum at the airport, (it was a tiny duty free shop and I just couldn’t find anything else I wanted, but I had to buy something). I’m so glad I did though, you’re so right, it does ‘something’ to skin and my skin always looks better the next day.

    • It’s great on the ends of my hair Anne Marie. I really get bad split ends from just abusing my hair with dye and heat styling. I would be interested to see how it compares with the solid one you use. My salon tried the serum out on me. In fact, she did the shampoo and conditioner too. Ideal for verydry hair. You apply conditioner first and then shampoo twice. I would only recommend those as a weekly treatment though, highly effective. I jut bought the serum for now
      I’m rarely ever disappointed with Kerastase. Thanks for reading. Hope you have a great 2016. X

      • My hair’s going through a good phase at the moment, shiny and thick looking, but I know it won’t last!

        I’ve bitten the bullet and bought the serum, shampoo, conditioner and masque (I had a £15 voucher which I was itching to spend!)

        Interesting about conditioning first though, because I read an article in Irish Tatler about a new fad called ‘co-washing’ (I think that’s the name) using conditioner only to ‘wash’ hair. I must dig it out.

        Only one Kerastase line I didn’t like and that was the pale pink Cristalliste range, no better than an ordinary shampoo!

        I bought the solid serum (which is in a small, but heavy glass jar) because I found liquid serums always leaked in my handbag. The scent is quite heavy and not everyone likes it, but it suits me and it’s so rich, it’s going to last forever, you only need to swirls tips of fingers in it to pick up just enough product.

        Wishing you the best for 2016 too Mandy! Let’s keep comparing notes. X

      • Gosh Anne Marie, that’s great. Your making me want to buy the whole set too. I will buy the conditioner and shampoo when i start running out of my others. I use Bed Head Urban antidotes because they last me months and are quite good.
        The Therapiste range is great at targeting damage and dryness. Like i said, when my hairdresser used them on me, she said that they are to be used back to front as it’s a great conditioner. She left the conditioner on my hair for approx. ten minutes and then rinsed and shampooed twice. The comb went through my hair like a hot knife through butter and surprisingly, my hair never felt heavy or greasy. Some conditioners do that because i have fine hair.
        This new range is designed to be light weight. It is!
        I hope you love it. I am going to buy the solid serum. It sounds fantastic.
        xx

  2. I did not like the Dior Star either …. the foundation oxidizes on my skin and went yellow! I have pinky fair skin and dry – not nice.
    Love the Coco Rouge lipsticks and have 6 of them. I hope 2016 see’s more colours!!!!

    I must go and get the Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair and give it a go again …… maybe I was not using it long enough to see a result.

    • Chanel are bringing out lipstick 💄 stylo’s in Spring. Can’t wait to try those out. I love all the Chanel lipstick formulas and the Dior Rouge baumes as well.
      The star foundation is lovely on me in the cold weather. It remains tacky on my skin and just slides off in hot weather. My skin is quite oily in the summer though.
      I always notice the difference in my skin when I don’t use Estee Lauder night repair. I put it on before bed. Thanks for reading xx Hope you had a nice time over the holiday.

  3. Hey great list of products:) Exciting to see what you have been using…Ive been looking for a new pen, and might try the Chanel one:) Happy new year! /Mary

Leave a Reply

 
