Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Foundation……………..Shades 20; 22 & 30!

Hi Everyone,

I managed to grab some free samples from my Chanel counter of the new Chanel Les Beiges Foundation in shade 20, 22 and 30 over the past week. I have used it for a week now and here are my first impressions and comparisons to other Chanel foundations i currently use.

Chanel Healthy Glow Foundation Sample

My Initial Thoughts.

First of all, as soon as i opened the samples, i noticed the floral fragrance straight away. I have wore many foundations from Chanel over the years and they are never normally this strongly scented. (The foundation has that signature scent the Les Beiges powders have).

The formula of the foundation is like a cream, thick in texture and i thought i might struggle to blend this out. I tried it with my flat foundation brush and it was a bit difficult to work with plus, it sheered out too much on my skin. Using my fingers instead; it gave a medium coverage and blended out with ease to a flawless finish.

Looking For The Shade Which Is, ‘Just Right’. 

Number 20 went on my skin looking slightly pasty in colour. (I wear 20 in the Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet Foundation and this is a lovely shade). I then tried number 30 and this is a touch to dark for my skin. Number 22 has a warmer peachy finish, which works really well with my skin tone.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Foundation shades 20 22 30

Above left shade 20 gives a cooler yellow toned finish, 22 a warmer peachy finish and; 30 is a warmer beige tone.

I noticed that it does have a skin-like finish that it claims to give; and gave my skin a very smooth, glowing appearance.

I finished it with the Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Powder in number 25 and the Les Beiges Healthy Glow Blush Stick, number 21.

This is were the foundation really comes into its own because, it works beautifully in sync with the powder.

The foundation did last a full 8 hours on my face without going patchy on my T-zone, although it is winter and my skin is not oily during the colder months.

Face without Foundation(1)Chanel Les Beiges Foundation Number 22(1)Face with Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Foundations 20 and 20 mixed together(1)Finished Look Using Chanel Les Beiges

Top left; without foundation; top right with shade 22 and below left with a combination of 20 & 30 combined; below right; is the Les Beiges Combination of 20 & 30 and I used Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Powder in number 25 and the Healthy Glow Blush Stick number 21. The lipstick in Chanel Rouge Coco Lipstick, 424 Edith.

Overall Thoughts.

I have wore this foundation for a week now by combining number 20 and 30 to give the perfect tone for my skin. I have used shade 22 for a few days also.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Foundation shades 20 and 30 and both combined

Above left shade 20; centre shade 30 and; right is both shades combined. 

The thing is; i own both Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation and Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet. They are both seriously fantastic foundations and the latter works wonders with my blemished prone, normal/combination skin. The Velvet Lumiere really does give my skin a beautiful luminous ‘lit from within’ finish. Les Beiges gives a more topical glow to the skin. When i compared the two side by side, Les Beiges gave a slightly more matte appearance.

Do I Need It?

The question is, do i need the Les Beiges foundation? I love the fact that it comes in a frosted glass bottle, something which irks me with both the previous foundations i just mentioned. They come in plastic bottles which have to be shaked before applying.

There is far too much of a shade jump between both 20 and 30 and i look ghost-like in 20. (The Les Beiges come up lighter than other Chanel foundations). Luckily, 22 works well for me with my number 25 Les Beiges powder.

Finished Look Using Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Foundation Number 22 (1)

I did love the smooth skin-like finish this foundation gave me although, i wanted it to melt into my skin more. It also doesn’t build very well with a tendency to become a little cakey if you overdo it.

It didn’t settle into any of my lines, highlight pores or; oxidize in fact, it gave me a slightly more youthful appearance because of it’s smoothing effect and the fragrance did not irritate my sensitive skin either.

I must admit, when i first tried Les Beiges foundation, i didn’t like the finish. Now i have used it for a week, i have worked out how it works best on my skin and it really is lovely. I also like that it is SPF 25 PA++. A winner for me in protecting the skin. The answer is no, i don’t need it but yes, i do want it.

Above left is the finished look using Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Foundation in number 22. 

Final Verdict.

Me Jan 2016For the winter months, this is a lovely, glowing healthy skin-like foundation. It is also long wearing and gives a youthful appearance to my skin. It works beautifully in sync with the Les Beiges Healthy Glow sheer powder. If you own this you will probably love the foundation.

I like the frosted glass bottle packaging and it will be interesting to try this foundation out again in the summer months, when my skin is a touch oilier through the T-zone. On a more sobering note; the fragrance may be off putting to some and the shades jump is a little annoying.

Pictured right in LED lighting, highlights the smoothing, glowing effect of the Chanel Healthy Glow Foundation more effectively than direct daylight. 

Have you tried out the Les Beiges foundation yet? What are your thoughts? Did you notice a difference in shades too?

Take care and i will see you all soon. 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on January 31, 2016.

12 Responses to “Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Foundation……………..Shades 20; 22 & 30!”

  1. My thoughts exactly! I own both Vitalumière Aqua and Perfection Lumière Velvet but I wanted something in between. Of course, I was attracted to the bottle but when a girl at Chanel applied both Les Beiges and CC Cream on different sides of my face, CC cream looked more seamless. Plus it truly does colour correct so well and the shade much is a tad lighter than B10 which makes me very happy. I’ll still probably get Les Beiges, maybe in summer…

  2. This is the first Chanel foundation I tried as it’s the first that comes in a shade for me (10) so I have no comparison but I like the blurring effect it gives. I’m still testing so I don’t have a final verdict yet, but I like it so far.

    • Yes i like that it is very smoothing too. I want to hold off until i use up some of my other Chanel foundations and i may wait until summer and get another sample again. Foundations work very differently on my skin during winter and summer. I do love the Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet but i hate the plastic bottle it comes in. I do like that Chanel are back to putting foundations in glass bottles again. It just sits better with being a high end brand. Good luck with your sampling. x

  3. Oh this sounds very interesting. I can only wear the old 020 at the hight of summer with a tan, so I am sort of happy to hear they have lighten the colors a little (and nice they added 22 as well). Will have to try this 🙂
    xo Anne

  4. Great, in depth review Mandy. I find Chanel are more generous with their samples than other brands.

    French brand foundations are generally too yellow on me and I’m still using Liz Earle’s Sheer Skin Tint, which is light coverage and doesn’t cover my rosy cheeks, but it is the only foundation I’ve used which doesn’t sink into my pores and I must have trialled hundreds of foundations in my time.

    Foundation is expensive, I would love to try samples of Armani, By Terry and Tom Ford. Beauty brands need to wise up and control how samples are distributed,they all seem to end up on eBay!

    • I think staff steal half of them. I used to use Lancome and clinique before Chanel and they never offered samples. I bought one product from Chanel and she gave me 3 samples. The rest is history. clever company. x

  5. Of course they do! Do a search on eBay of ‘Chanel samples’ and up they come! I buy a lot of products based on (generous sized) samples but if the sales lot keep nicking them they’re losing paying customers.

    Are you on Twitter Mandy? I feel like having a rant!

  6. The SA at Chanel gave me a little makeover with the new foundation and then fluffed on the Les Beiges powder in No.20. I found the foundation good but not wonderful but I did buy the Les Beiges powder!
    I have had the Armani ladies put on Luminous Silk and that was far better – it will be my next purchase 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
