March Favourites……..The High Street Hero and The High End Miss!

Hi Everyone,

Another round up of my favourites for the past month. I found a fab high street product that really knocked it out of the park, and sadly; a high end product that was a complete flop. Literally!

March Favourites 2016

Dior skin Nude Tan Healthy Glow Enhancing Powder, 002 Sunlight.

I have pulled this one back out and have been enjoying it over the past month. Every time Dior release a Nude powder i think about these and it’s time to start using them up before they dry out.Dior Nude Tan Healthy Glow Enhancing Powder Close Up 002 Sunlight

I do really like this product. It isn’t a bronzing product as such but great to add a healthy glow to the skin and it’s still going strong. Swatches here.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Colour Stick, Blush N° 21.

This is a lovely blush to add a flush of colour to the apple of the cheeks. Its quite effortless to blend out with the fingers and i use this one quite a lot. It needs only a tiny amount of product because it’s quite pigmented and dries down to a matte powder finish. Great for those who hate shimmer or glitter. I don’t mind and always add a highligher to it anyway. (Pictured below left). Swatches here.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Colour Stick n0 21

Neils Yard Geranium and Orange Hand Cream.

A free gift in a magazine i bought and i love it. I can’t believe they gave away such a great product. It works very well as a moisturizer and i love the fragrance too.

I need plenty of hand cream in the winter.

Pixi Skin Treats Glow Tonic, Exfoliating Toner.

I was given a sample of this and loved it. I bought the full size immediately.

It contains 5% Glycolic Acid, Aloe Vera and Ginseng. The smell of it is the only negative thing about this product. (cloying) It is however; a lovely toner that leaves skin feeling super refreshed and clean.

Despite it containing glycolic acid, it is added in such a minimal amount that this can be used every day. I use it every couple of days as part of a deep cleansing routine. A product worth the hype.

Nivea Double Effect Eye Makeup Remover. (My Hero)!

I have been cutting down on the beauty expenditure. One of the ways i have done this is, buying more cost-effective cleansers.

I bought this Nivea bi-phase eye makeup remover with very little hopes of it being any good. How wrong was i! It is fantastic.

I used to buy Lancôme Bi-Phase eye makeup remover and i raved about it on this site for so long. That cost £19.00 and the Nivea costs £2.00. The Nivea is more effective at removing my stubborn mascara. It is effortless and no harsh rubbing in the eye area. A high street product that is better than any of the high end ones i have ever used.

Lancôme Volume À Porter Mascara. (Fail)

Speaking of Lancôme, the subject of this months fail.

I love Lancôme mascaras. The Definicils mascara has been a staple in my beauty routine since i was 19 years old. A lovely mascara.

I was excited to try out this new one released later on in 2015. The beauty gurus raved about it. (Yes, they were sent the product for review). It gave long spidery lashes and no clumping. My expectations were high indeed.

Lancome Hypnose Volume a porter wand

It doesn’t clump. The problem is, the formula is so wet and just weighs down the eyelashes. Very reminiscent of a high street mascara in fact. Horrible, wet and as soon as i apply it, my lashes just fall down. I have tried it out in so many ways to no avail.

I know Lancôme are owned by L’Oreal and i would normally say they are not the same products, however; on this occasion, i cannot differentiate between a L’Oreal high street mascara and this Lancôme formula. Very annoying!

That is my monthly favourites and fail. Take care and i will see you all soon. ;-)f

~ by Mirifique Beauty on April 3, 2016.

4 Responses to “March Favourites……..The High Street Hero and The High End Miss!”

  1. I love that Pixi toner and its Always sold out ! I am going to look into that Nivea eye makeup cleanser as I am trying to cut back on my beauty spending too …. I have to confess – this last weekend I bought 2 Lauder lipsticks and a Hourglass blusher ….. and I really did not need them but they Called to Me!!! LOL

  2. Ha ha gets you some way or another. I’m waiting for new Chanel lip stylo’s and Dior mono eyeshadows to come in. But I try x

  3. Sadly, I think Lancôme and L’Oreal seem to have more in common than is desirable lately… 😬😬 And, in a happier note, I love your blog!! It’s fun and very useful! ☺️

    • Yes, just noticed myself over the past year. Hope Lisa Eldridge can improve the brand. The new juicy shakers look great for a younger market. Thanks so much for the nice compliment x

Leave a Reply

 
