Latest Haul and Debate……..Do We Give Honest Reviews on Beauty Products If We Buy Them Ourselves?

Hi Everyone,

It’s time to do a haul post as i’m starting to get a little behind on them. I keep buying and putting pics on Instagram and never get around to talking about them. This will be a first impressions on the products and i will report back if they become firm favourites or fails.

Latest Beauty Haul for April

Chanel Stylo Yeux Waterproof Long Lasting Eyeliner, 918 Ardent.

Chanel Stylo Yeux are firm favourites with me. I will be hard pressed to find this one any different. It’s a lovely warm orange tone true copper shade. This was released last Autumn/Fall in the Automnales collection and at the time, i wasn’t overawed with the colour. I didn’t think it looked very wearable.

Chanel Stylo Yeux Eyeliner 918 Ardent Close upChanel Stylo Yeux Eyeliner 918 Ardent with Flash

I have; however, been reading bloggers posts about the shade and some are saying it wears very well on blue eyes, helping them to look even more blue. I shall keep you informed and probably do a FOTD using this shade. Below right is Ardent alone.

Chanel Stylo Yeux ComparisonsChanel Stylo Yeux Eyeliner 918 Ardent Swatch

Chanel Stylo Yeux Waterproof Long Lasting Eyeliner, 926 Purple Choc.

I just realized, i have never posted about this eyeliner i bought in the Chanel Spring Collection 2016 when i bought the Sunkiss Ribbon Blush.

Chanel Stylo Yeux Eyeliner 926 Purple ChocChanel Stylo Yeux 926 Purple Choc with Flash

It’s soft black with purple micro shimmer and wears really well around the whole eye area. I probably wouldn’t wear this this on my waterline because it is a bit dark for me although, the beauty of Chanel Stylo Yeux is, they actually do last almost the whole day on the waterline. Swatch below right.Chanel Stylo Yeux Waterproof Eyeliner 926 Purple Choc Swatch with Flash

Vichy Idealia Skin Sleep Recovery Night Gel-Balm.

I managed to get a sample of this and just had to buy the full size while it was on offer. I used it for 3 nights and noticed a difference in my skin. Yes, that quickly. I only ever review skin care if it is outstanding as i tend to get frustrated with some that claim amazing results and never live up to it.

Vichy Idealia Skin Sleep Recovery Night gel BalmI will be writing a full review on this product so i will not dwell on it too much here, but the signs are great. Hence, why i am writing about it.

Avon Anew Clinical Advanced Resurfacing Peel Pads.

Another great product. I have only used them a couple of times and need to use them more before i give a final review.

They were recommended to me and i do see a real difference in the size of the pores on my face after using them. My skin is clearer and cleaner too.

Each round pad is soaked in a solution of water with 10% glycolic acid, salicylic acid, hyaluronic acid, cucumber, glycerin, fruit and flower extracts. It does contain alcohol; however, i love the results so i’m not getting hung up on that.Avon Anew Clinical Resurfacing Peel Pads

The other great thing about them, are the price. Some brands charge £25-£35 for 24, I got them on offer at £6.00 for 30 pads. (I think the full price is £15). They work as good as the expensive ones, so far!

Colab Luxe Shine Glossing Hair Fragrance Spray and Sheer Invisible Dry Shampoo, London.

I literally haven’t tried the shine spray out yet and really look forward to doing so. I just wish Colab would keep up with the demand as they are nearly always out of stock in Superdrug. I got lucky this time and they were on offer too.

The dry shampoo is as good as Batiste with a much nicer fragrance range. You can tell Ruth is a big fan of Chanel perfumes because London reminds me of Chanel Coco Mademoiselle. It is a lovely fragrance.

THE DEBATE.

I recently watched a Youtube vid featuring Sali Hughes. She was talking with a Youtuber who is sent products for review, about whether they can give fair and honest opinions on products.

Her reply was that people who buy their own products don’t give fair reviews either because, they bought products they already liked and tend to stick with what they know works for them.

In some respects, Sali has a fair point. I buy Chanel products. I know they are great quality and very rarely do they ever disappoint so, its fair to say, i would never really give them down the banks. However; i would if i bought a bad product by them.

Chanel Stylo Yeux Waterproof Eyeliner 926 Purple Choc in direct lightThis is where product endorsed posts/vids cannot be reviewed fairly. They cannot ever really say a product is crap without upsetting brands, PR’s; etc.

Sali also mentioned that we buy within certain price brackets too. When reviewers get sent products, they generally have them from all price points and this levels the playing field out more. Payed reviewers can stumble upon a great find whereas, we cannot because we are spending our own money and will be less inclined to buy blind.

I do agree with her there because, i do buy more high end makeup and more high street skin care. I know this works for me and don’t have extra cash to buy blind. Also, in the UK we cannot return products easily. In the US, they can. I would be more inclined to if i could return products.

This adds the question. In the US, can reviewers comment more fairly on beauty products because they can return them?

Do you think that people who buy their own beauty items give a fair, unbiased review? Do you agree with Sali Hughes that we have already compromised the review by liking before buying and sticking with what we know works for us and our skin type?

Your views would be appreciated please.

That’s it folks. Have a great week and i will see you all soon. 😉

Disclaimer. I have paraphrased Sali Hughes comments to reduce the amount of space required to write this post if i were to give her account verbatim.     

~ by Mirifique Beauty on April 10, 2016.

8 Responses to “Latest Haul and Debate……..Do We Give Honest Reviews on Beauty Products If We Buy Them Ourselves?”

  1. My reviews are genuine however I either really want to try the product or have researched and know this product will work for me. I have no problem saying that I don’t like a product although I like more than I don’t like because of the way I have chosen them. Interesting point. 🙂

    • Yes me too Traci-Ann. If anything, I trust real bloggers over paid ones everytime because they can say a product is bad. Thanks for commenting and having good points x

  2. I def think that when you buy your own stuff you give the most honest review…I buy a lot of stuff on sale or at Marshalls when Im in the US so I tend to take a chance on beauty products..sometimes its a win and sometimes a complete disaster and I love to share the disasters with my readers so none of them will end up wasting their money:) /Mary
    https://beautytruuth.wordpress.com/

    • Thanks for your input Mary. I don’t really agree with Sali Hughes at all. I usually check out the ‘pro’ blogs and Youtube vids just to get swatches; however, i check out real blogs/Youtubers for the real reviews. Generally if a product is bad, the real reviewers will find the same bad points about the products. That’s when i know to stay away.
      Its a bit of an oxymoron for paid reviewers to do reviews on products really because they will never give a true, honest opinion unless its an excellent product to begin with. Waste of time really.

  3. I’m more likely to believe a blogger who paid for the product. I’ve read anough blogs and seen enough vids to have made up my mind about that. Although it really comes down to the bloggers personality the most. Some people are just easily excited and I always take their rave reviews with a grain of salt. Others are more scientificially minded (and sometimes pseudo-scientifical) and some people have prejudices I do not share so I take that into account as well.
    But here’s the thing in my opinion bloggers who pay for their own stuff are simply a lot more entertaining? There’s a huge difference between a hobby and a job or side job and I think you can feel it after a while. 🙂

    • Deffo agree with you about bloggers who buy their own stuff. Ones who are paid follow patterns that has been set up sometimes. I also notice with paid bloggers, they will not do follow up posts if products turn out bad and they originally raved about them. Thanks for your input. Some very interesting points.x

  4. Oh gosh, in some ways it’s interesting to hear the reverse argument from Sali Hughes, because most of the time sponsored products get criticized for not being objective. I try to be objective of course, sometimes at the expense of being banished by PRs. Which I see as a selective bias then, because I don’t really want to endorse brands that cannot take constructive criticism right? For me, it is impossible to buy everything, and I definitely am very selective about where I spend my money now. At the end of the day, this is your blog, you are the one spending money and time, so feel free to do whatever you want!

    • Thanks for your input Linda. Sometimes I really wish brands would send me products to review because it would save me a fortune. (Believe me, myblog is a very expensive hobby I love doing). But then I would want only high end products because I never do unknown or high Street brands. In that respect, Sali is right. I will never stumble on a surprise but because I buy my own beauty. I cannot afford to takechances withheld latter. X

Leave a Reply

 
