The Tuesday Tester…………..Estee Lauder Double Wear Nude Cushion Stick Foundation.

Hi Everyone,

Back with another foundation review. This time i have managed to get a hold of the new Estée Lauder Cushion Stick foundation sample.

I like the look of this because of the packaging. It can be easily carried in the handbag and used during the day.

Estee Lauder Double Wear Cushion Stick Nude Foundation

What Estée Lauder Say.

Its light weight and comfortable to wear. Wears for eight hours without touch ups with sheer to medium, radiant finish.

As you use it, it gets smaller because it twists up.

The sponge is also removable for washing.

Price and quantity is, £28.00/14ml. (Standard 30ml high end foundation is between £30-£36, 30ml of this would be £60.00).

Initial Thoughts. 

The SA told me that she had given me a sample that was equivalent of 100 twist ups.

It does contain fragrance but isn’t heavily scented.

The shade ivory beige is a good match for my skin tone.

I like the idea of it diminishing in size as the product is used up. This will make it great for the handbag and travelling.

I must admit, i hate the original Double Wear Foundation. It sets horribly on the skin, sinks into every line on my face, making me look much older so, i was interested to try this new lighter foundation out to see if it was any different.
EL DW_Cushion_Stick_FINAL

Application and Finish.

I lightly moisturized my skin only; no primers, concealers; etc. It applied really nicely with a brush because my sample obviously didn’t come with a sponge. The formula is quite liquid and buffs out very easily.

I used about two twist ups of the foundation, (at a guess). It smoothed out some of my smaller pores quite easily. It also managed to cover up my redness and smaller blemishes.

The foundation sets down quite quickly and leaves the skin with a soft slightly powdery feel. I would say two twist ups would give a medium coverage and one will be quite sheer. I need medium coverage. As you can see, i would also need to add concealer to cover larger blemishes.

It wore well for over 4 hours; however, it started to separate a little around my nose. Not bad considering i had no primer underneath and i always have to re-apply at least once during the day anyway.

Without MakeupEstee Lauder Double Wear Cushion Stick Nude Foundation on my face

Above Left; without any makeup other than mascara and lip balm. Right with  EL cushion stick makeup.

Final Thoughts.

I like this foundation and it does give an illuminated satin finish to the skin. It doesn’t accentuate my lines at all either.

No, i will not use it as my main foundation because i still feel the tightness on my skin after it sets down. It is far too pricey for the amount of product you get as well. (It isn’t worth £60.00 for 30ml if 30ml was available). double-wear-cushion-stick_parallax-new

Yes, i like the idea of it being ideal for work as a great touch up foundation for the t-zone.

Hooray! If you have an oily t-zone like mine because this wears very well and didn’t show any oily shine through after a few hours.

It will make a great foundation for travelling too, taking up little space and shouldn’t melt off on a hot day.

However; what i hate in general is, this growing trend of using ‘cushion’ foundations and only getting half the amount of foundation for double the price. I just can’t bring myself to buy into it at all. I mean, Seriously!!

Let me know your thoughts.

Take care and i will see you all soon. 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on August 2, 2016.

One Response to “The Tuesday Tester…………..Estee Lauder Double Wear Nude Cushion Stick Foundation.”

  1. I had a try with this in a department store a couple of days ago ….. I nearly got it all over myself as I did a big old squeeze! LOL
    The colours are great but … $$$$ and I thought it would be a bit clumsy to use on the face too.

Leave a Reply

 
