The Forgettables and Unforgettables …………In My Beauty Collection.

Hi Everyone,

I was inspired to do this post by a recent Youtube vid i saw, which was a tag about 10 forgettable products.

Forgettable and Unforgettable Beauty Products

I got to thinking about products i just don’t reach for but probably thought i would love when i bought them; and then, i also have beauty products which i thought i might not use much but i reach for on a daily basis and can’t be without.

I will alternate with a forgettable product and an unforgettable product.

MAC Kohl Power Eye Pencil, Orpheus. (FORGETTABLE)

MAC Eye pencil Orpheus Close upMAC Eye pencil Orpheus Close up Swatch

A black pencil with golden micro shimmer. When i swatched this on the back of my hand i thought i would never put it down. I’ve used it twice. It just doesn’t work at all on my eyes. Nothing wrong with the pencil itself. It’s just a weird combination of black and gold that doesn’t work for me.

Dior Brow Chalk, Soft Brown. (UNFORGETTABLE)

Dior Brow Chalk close upDior Brow Chalk Soft Brown Swatch

Reviewed here. When i bought this, the SA assured me that this set down once applied and stayed the whole day. Well, she lied! It doesn’t set down at all and once i realized this, i thought i would hate it. What was the point of owning a brow product that wore off as the day went on?Dior Brow Chalk on Eyebrows

Thankfully, it doesn’t wear off at all and gives a lovely natural finish to the brows like a traditional kohl pencil does with extra staying power. I use it everyday without fail.

Guerlain Terracotta Joli Teint Natural Healthy Glow Powder Duo. 00 Light Blondes. (FORGETTABLE)

When Chanel released their Les Beiges Healthy Glow powder compact, it was an outstanding success and everyone jumped on board and released their versions of this product. Guerlain offered us the above.

Guerlain Terracotta Joli Teint Powder 00 BlondesGuerlain Terracotta Joli Teint Powder 00 Blondes Swatch

I love Guerlain Terracotta bronzing powders, they are amazing in quality so; therefore, i believed i would also love this too.

Here’s the problem. It doesn’t give me that healthy glow or any blurring effect Les Beiges does. It’s more like a setting powder than anything else. The colour range is very sketchy. Light blondes is too pale for my skin and the next shade up is too orange. I have very rarely used this, opting for Les Beiges more.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Powder. (UNFORGETTABLE)

When Chanel released the short vid online showing Gisele BΓΌndchen using this powder ‘on the go’, i thought it was a bit of a gimmick.

I bought it anyway, thinking i could use it as a setting powder if it wasn’t much good.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Powder 25Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Powder 25 Swatch

How wrong i was! It gives the most amazing blurring effect with that ‘healthy glow from within’ everyone talks about. I could never be without this product in my collection. If i could only buy one beauty product, this would be it. After mascara of course.

NARS Blusher, Sin. (FORGETTABLE)

Yes, sadly NARS. When i first started blogging nearly 4 years ago, NARS blushers were the most raved about beauty product on blogs and Youtube. I bought into the hype and thought Sin was a beautiful shade and it is.

The thing is, where so many other blushers i own are multi tonal or have extra dimensions to them, NARS Sin doesn’t. It just looks a little flat on my skin. Highly pigmented yes; however, it reminds me of makeup products from the 1980’s! Basic! I really thought i would wear this one a lot.

NARS Blusher, SinNARS Blusher, Sin Swatch

Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse Multi-Purpose Dry Oil Face, Body and Hair. (UNFORGETTABLE)

I have mentioned this product in my favourites a few times. It is a beautifully scented and natural product.

When i first bought it, i thought the oil wouldn’t dry down and it would feel greasy on the skin. It doesn’t and it dries down so you forget about it, if it didn’t have that subtle scent it has.Nuxe Body Oils

It is completely non-greasy and works really well through the ends of the hair, wet or dry.

I use it after my shower at the gym and i will never stop buying this one. I have tried a few others but they never completely dry down.

Final Thoughts.
Fluffs de bunniesI could have given a list of many more products in the forgettable and unforgettable categories but this post would have gone on for some time. I may do another one again soon.

The forgettable products are by no means bad. They just never lived up to my expectations. It doesn’t mean they won’t for anyone else.Spider close up

The unforgettable products actually exceeded my expectations and that’s a great buzz when you buy a beauty product and it just never ceases to wow. It’s always money well spent.

Have you had any forgettable and unforgettable’s? Take care and i will see you all soon. πŸ˜‰

~ by Mirifique Beauty on September 17, 2016.

8 Responses to “The Forgettables and Unforgettables …………In My Beauty Collection.”

  1. You’re selling the hell out of that Chanel powder! πŸ˜€ Very nice list – what a shame about Orpheus (looks so pretty). Loved this post format – I might try it out, too, if you don’t mind!

  2. Thanks for the like on my blog this morning πŸ™‚ Your blog looks fantastic! Follow for follow?

  3. I had to have a think here. Forgettables for me are – Guerlain single eye shadow in “Hey Nude” … its not nude – I would list it Hey Beige/brown! Clinique Chubby stick foundation – I do not reach for it as it can settle in wrinkles but the colour was fab! LOL and lastly Guerlain’s Meteorites Baby Glow – its OK but not much coverage so I use other foundations.
    My Unforgettables are my Hourglass blushers ( I hate my Chanel one) and my most loved Armani Luminous Silk Foundation- may they NEVER tinkle with the formula or drop it from the Armani list !!!!

    • I hate anything by Clinique Chubby Sticks. They are useless. I loved the original Chubby sticks they did, which were like the Bobbi Brown Art Sticks and were a lovely quality. I didn’t take to the Baby glow either because it was too sheer for my problem skin. Thanks so much for your input Melinda xx

  4. great post! I think no 1 on my unforgettables would be the Chanel Les Beiges foundation. First I found it hard to blend and thought it would be a dud, but when my sample ran out I missed it so much I bought the full size. XD

Leave a Reply

 
