Five of My Sunday Best………..Book, Film and Beauty.

Hi Everyone,

Back with another of my five of my Sunday best.

This month, i have been trying to catch up on some reading. It’s great having a computer but it stops you from taking five minutes just to sit and read. I have also been quite ill with the flu this month, (Flu jab next year, for sure)! Skincare has been up there in my routine too.

5-of-my-sunday-best

 

Thankfully, i’m starting to feel a bit better after spending 5 days in bed with no energy. A whole two weeks without exercise, which is just sending me mad as well. The reading has helped me stay sane.

Here are 5 of my Sunday best for this month.

Book/ I’m travelling Alone by Samuel Bjork.

First book from this great writer and i can see many more to come. This was in Richard & Judy’s book club, (well known in the UK). Β It’s a ‘can’t put down’ read.

The story is about a serial killer who kills little girls and then hangs them with a sign saying, ‘I’m travelling Alone’. Two detectives who have worked together in the past are in a race to find the killer before they strike again while, they are leading complex and messed up lives themselves.

It has some great little sub plots going on that start to tie together towards the end. It is only near the end that you realize who the killer is too.

I usually only ever do true stories these days; however, this did grab my attention and i loved it.

DVD/ The Girl On The Train.

Emily Blunt is great in this film. It’s quite an atmospheric murder mystery. Not as good as Gone Girl, in my opinion, but still worth a watch. Especially when you’re holed up with the flu.

Pixi Rose Oil Blend Nourishing Face Oil.

pixi-rose-nourishing-oil

My skin has looked almost grey from being ill over the past week. Very dry and also swollen. This rose oil smells divine and is super gentle and nourishing on the skin.

I apply of an evening and it leaves the skin super soft and smoothes out fine lines. I have normal/combination skin that can get dehydrated in the winter. This works a treat without leaving the skin feeling greasy. A great product from Pixi.

Chanel Sunkiss Ribbon Blush Harmony.

chanel-sunkiss-ribbon-blusher

Recently, Chanel brought out the Coco Codes collection for Spring 2017. I wasn’t impressed with the collectable harmony blush this time. This inspired me to use my Ribbon blusher again. This one was released last Spring and is a lovely mix of colours.

It has mauve, coral, bright pink blushers and beige, pale pink highlighters, which work really well together or, you can dip your brush into individual colours to emphasize them more if you like.

chanel-sunkiss-ribbon-blusher-swatch

I just think this palette gives more for the money personally and when i swatched the current Coco Codes harmony blush, it pulled very red/brown where the sunkiss ribbon gives a nice wearable pink that looks good on my paler skin.

Chanel Rouge Coco Shine, 94 Confident.

chanel-rouge-coco-shine-92-confident

A great nourishing and moisturising lipstick when you have dry lips in the winter. It is a very neutral everyday shade with high shine. A rosy brown that is pigmented and lasts really well on the lips.

Rouge Coco Lip Shine Lipstick 94 Confident

There it is. 5 of my Sunday Best for this month. What have been your favourites?

Take care and i will see you all soon. πŸ˜‰

~ by Mirifique Beauty on February 12, 2017.

4 Responses to “Five of My Sunday Best………..Book, Film and Beauty.”

  1. I do hope your flu is over soon!
    Now … I thought Gone Girl was lousy and loved Girl on a Train! LOL
    I so agree with you on the Chanel Code range …. the ribbons are far nicer and I did not buy it sadly… not buying the Codes either!
    I wonder what the next Chanel collection will look like?Mmmmmmm πŸ™‚

    • I’m finally getting better thanks Melinda. I can see why you liked Girl on the Train more. Emily Blunt is a great actress. I liked the twists in the story line in Gone Girl.
      Chanel summer are new Les Beiges powders and Les Beiges Quint Eyeshadows. There are also a great new line of single eyeshadows. I can’t wait to see them.
      I don’t like the new Staff at my local Chanel counter that much xx

  2. I do think Emily Blunt is a great actor and she is my Number One these days … first saw her in Devil Wears Prada and she stole the show from Meryl Streep!!! Have you seen the movie Sicario with Emily Blunt ? Do not miss it! Violent but …. so good. I bought the Chanel Camilia de Chanel that was out for Christmas … I know some people think its too faint but its great with my fair skin tone that is mature. I am looking forward to see those singles … Oh , wish you were in Australia .. my girls at the Chanel Boutique where I live are fabulous … mind you , the ones in the Department store are “not nice” – really “cannot be bothered”!!! LOL .

    • Yes she is great in Devil Wears Prada. Also brilliant in The Adjustment Bureau with Matt Damon.
      I think it’s just that my old Chanel SA left and i don’t know these new girls very well. I think Chanel are very tight with samples now and used to give out loads. But i will not buy skln care or foundation without trying out first, so their loss really.
      They never sold that Camelia highlighter in UK but i have the summer bronzy one, which i love. I miss Australia so much, i loved living there. You’re so lucky xxx

Leave a Reply

 
