Five of My Sunday Best…………..Beauty and Rambling In The Lakes!

Hi Everyone,

Recently, I had a few days in Keswick in the Lake District. I was going to do a ‘whats in my travel makeup bag’ post; however, i didn’t take a lot in the way of beauty products. In fact, it was mostly samples, BB cream with a blusher and lip balm.

This made me think that i would do a post about the five products i loved when i was up there and any i have been loving since.

The hotels from Hope Park. 

I also did a tiny ‘mountain’ walk to Latrigg, (Keswick’s very own hill). I did want to do Catbells but the snow was out in force and the Launch, (Keswick’s boat service to the fells and other areas around Derwentwater) was off for a couple of days too.

Above, the view from my bedroom. The hills are alive……….

Here are my five favourites for March and photos of my adventure in the lakes.

The Snow capped summit of Catbells.

Berghaus Explorer Active Gore Tex Boot.

I have to give these a mention straight away. I didn’t have any walking shoes at all and for many years, i would wear Doc Martin’s if i did any walks. (They were fantastic)!

I decided to buy a pair of proper walking boots and because they were new, i was dreading the blisters that would ensue. I bought a ton of plasters for my trip and didn’t use a single one.

Oh no, my Chanel nail polish just chipped!

These fantastic boots not only come in half sizes, they hug the foot beautifully, don’t rub, are lightweight and i love the colour too. Really worth the money. They are also waterproof and even though i got them completely covered in mud, they cleaned up like new again. A HUGE favourite and worth splashing out the cash for.

Right; half way up Latrigg and i finally found a sign post.

Dior Lip Glow, Colour Reviver Balm, 006 Berry.

You could argue that there are many great lip balms out there and you would be right. The thing is, most of them come in a pot with a screw on lid. By Terry, Nuxe to mention a couple. This is impractical when you’re half way up a mountain.

The Dior lip balm is a lovely soft pink on the lips and works with your own lip pH. It stopped my lips from chapping and gave them a nice colour, without it looking like i had a heavy lipstick on. Fits easily in your pocket and actually would be even more practical if it came in the Guerlain Rouge Automatique casing, which has no lid at all.

The North Face Jester Day Sack.

I bought this back pack because i will also need it for my USA adventure later this year.

It’s perfect because, even though its only 26L, it’s ideal for the cabin of a plane and overhead in the motor coach. I can also pack it into my suitcase on my trip to space save and; it was ideal to climb a mountain with because of it’s size.

Skiddaw from Greta River. Loving the contrast with the dark trees.

It’s very lightweight and comfortable and has two main pockets and many inner pockets to keep everything organised. A great bag to own.

Now there’s a bench you could sit and reflect on.

Guerlain Terracotta Joli Teint Natural Healthy Glow Powder Duo, 00 Light Blondes.

One Product i have been revisiting is the Guerlain healthy glow powder.

I love the Chanel Les Beiges as anyone knows who reads my posts; however, a couple of years ago, Guerlain released their version of it.

I do like it more as a setting powder because it doesn’t really work for me as a healthy glow one. It doesn’t blur fine lines as the Chanel one does.

It does work exceptionally well as a setting powder for BB creams and other oilier foundations and it adds a touch of colour which i suppose, does give a more healthier complexion, just not a glowing one.

The boat landing near Friars Crag and ‘Theatre by The Lake’.

Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Eye and Face Serum Capsules. 

Another ideal way to have moisturiser and eye cream on hand when on a trip is these handy little capsules or caplets.

You use one of each for both eyes and face and it gives great skin. I love using them and they are non-greasy and leave the skin lovely and soft.

Latrigg, looks tiny doesn’t it? A really nice walk with great views over Keswick and the fells, with it’s two mile ascent.    

They are much better than having to lug around jars of creams everywhere when you’re on a trip.

Panoramic shot from Friars Crag. Below left; dessert and hot choc in one hit after a hearty walk. Yum! Below right; ‘No Entry’, well! Try stopping me. 

There it is. Five of my Sunday best for March 2017. Hope you enjoyed the photos too. I enjoyed my trip.

Take care and i will see you all soon. 😉

 

 

~ by Mirifique Beauty on April 9, 2017.

4 Responses to “Five of My Sunday Best…………..Beauty and Rambling In The Lakes!”

  1. The Lake District is just beautiful – what a great break! I have that Guerlain “bronzer” as you know ….. I am trying to use it up – like you , its not that great on me with my pale skin. I do like the Arden oils but … they do not like me – bugged eyes and so sore! I love those shoes and so worth the money – when do you Never get a blister with new walking shoes!!! Wow!

    • I was expecting the worst with those boots. I did wear hiking socks with them which probably helped but they were so comfy and iwalked up a hill with them.
      Shame about the serum capsules, I always forget that I have them. Great for travelling.
      I’m thinking about buying the new Guerlain bronzer in the tin. Not the matter one though. Thanks for reading hun 😀,😘😋

  2. I do not know of the new Guerlain bronzers …. things either come here late or not at all! LOL
    I wish you a very happy Easter 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
