The Used and Abused Makeup Tag.Part 1………………The Face.

Hi Everyone,

I’m not one for doing tags; however, i think this one is a tag that is worth doing.

I buy a lot of makeup but only re-purchase certain items time and time again and these are my most used and abused products that i love.

I suppose it is a bit like a favourites post so, lets get to it. There’s a fair few items to discuss.

FACE:

FOUNDATION.

There are three i constantly re-purchase and this is because they all produce different and great results.

I have blemished skin with uneven texture and colour so, i have to use a medium coverage foundation; however, i also need to not feel the foundation on my skin. That is a big no no for me. Below foundation swatches left to right; Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua, Middle; Dior Star Foundation and Right; Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet.  

Dior Star Foundation.

On my second bottle and i love that it gives a luminous finish while setting down. Ideal for winter months and for maturing skin as it does not dry the skin out and gives a lovely ‘lit from within’ finish. I use 020.

Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua.

Third bottle. Love the light weight satin finish. I cannot feel it at all on my skin. Best used in winter months. Two in twenty and one in 30 for summer.

Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet.

Gives a gorgeous luminous matte finish with medium/full coverage and yet; i cannot feel it sitting on my skin. Lasts really well and great for summer months. I use 20 and have bought two bottles. About to buy my third.

CONCEALER.

Guerlain Multi-Perfection Concealer (Hydrating and Blurring). Shade 04 Medium Cool.

I think this is the best ever concealer i have used under the eye area. It seriously doesn’t dry out the skin or highlight any lines. Just beautiful and i recommend it highly to anyone over 30. This is my first tube because they only released it last year but i have used it everyday for months and i am about to buy my second tube.

Dior Nude Skin Perfecting Hydrating Concealer, 002 Beige.

This one is another that is fab and hydrating. It is a more full coverage concealer ideal for redness and blemishes. Again, i have put a good sized dent in this product but as with high end makeup, you do get a lot of use out of it before it’s finished.

HIGHLIGHTER/ POWDER/BRONZER.

Estée Lauder Pure Colour Illuminating Powder Gelée, 01 Modern Mercury.

I use this constantly and it will probably last me forever, i think! It is a lovely, slightly strobe-like rose gold highlighter that is beautiful. So beautiful in fact that Victoria Beckham included it in her capsule collection for EL. If i had not previously owned it, i would have bought VB’s version because the packaging is so much better. EL never did do great packaging. Swatch below.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Powder SPF15/PA++, No 25.

This one was a limited edition shade that suits my skin tone perfectly and i hit pan on it. Love the shade so much because it gives a very subtle healthy glow to the skin without it being an overt bronzer. Just lovely! I also like that it protects the skin from the sun and pollutants. Swatch below.

It really angers me that Chanel do these amazing limited edition products and do not use them again in other collections or make them permanent. I understand a company has to keep up with trends and keep it moving along but……….please!

BLUSH. 

Le Blush Crème De Chanel Cream Blush, 64 Inspiration.

There was a mad rush to the store when this cream blusher was released by Chanel. The shade i own, proved to be very popular so; to my dismay, they then decided to discontinue them to replace with the blusher stick.

Fair enough, they are much better in the stick form; however, they never replicated this shade, which is beautiful. I am so scared to keep using it because the stick ones are not nearly as pigmented or rich in shade.

As you can see, i have very much hit pan and i use sparingly these days.

Chanel Blush Duo Tweed Effect, 70 Tweed Brun Rosé.

Another discontinued product in the UK. Again, not sure why because i have put a serious dent in this one and can’t re-purchase unless i go overseas.

It is a beautiful rosy pink/brown shade that is so lovely in formula and as with all Chanel blushers, looks lovely on the skin. I still love the Joues Contraste blushers and own many, so i’m not going to weep over this one too much. Below left is the tweed blush, right swatches from left to right are; Le blush creme de Chanel; Les beiges healthy glow sheer blush stick no 21 and Duo Tweed effect Brun rosé.

These are my face products that i put a dint in or re-purchase constantly and i love so much. They work with my mature skin and are very flattering on me. Stay posted for my used and abused eye and lip products.

Take care and i will see you all soon. 😉

~ by Mirifique Beauty on August 13, 2017.

9 Responses to “The Used and Abused Makeup Tag.Part 1………………The Face.”

  1. Oh boy ….. that Chanel creme blusher… I had your colour and another and I loved them so!!! If I knew they would be discontinuing them .. I would have bought “back-ups”…. they were just the best and so velvety. Not only the colour but they did not give me “clown” face…. I have to confess, I am very heavy with the brushes but I used to dot this on my cheeks and I could control blush better. Oh well…. still , I have two blushers that help me look ok and they are the Hourglass Dim Infusion – peachy one and the Ethereal Glow a very pale pink … I have bought them twice and I have a back up of the Ethereal Glow as I have just heard Hourglass has been bought out by a drug company and you know how they like to “change” things!!! I have bought Lauders Cushion Foundation three times (Pale Almond) and I have bought their Perfectionest foundation twice in Pale Almond . I have trouble with chanel foundations – they change on me sadly. I have seen the chanel stick blusher but I am not great with “sticks” …. again – the heavy hand! LOL

    • I wish they were still being sold. I never got into Hourglass powders. I find them too powdery with plenty of fall out.
      I love the Meteorites by Guerlain. Very subte. I like subtle. It will be interesting to see the changes when the new owners take over with Hourglass products.
      I have still been wearing the samples of Estee Lauder DW Nude Water foundation and i’m not as happy with it now i have given it a thorough try out. It doesn’t cover enough of my blemished skin and my mum says my skin doesn’t look flawless as it does when i use my Dior Star Foundation.
      I am thinking of taking the plunge and trying out the Dior Forever Cushion although, i cannot get my head around the price for the amount of product. I feel it’s such a rip off.
      Anyway, Dior are bringing out a light weight mousse foundation in August in the Forever range. Will try that out instead and the Guerlain Lingerie de Peau light weight one as well. So much to try, so little money lol. Take care Melinda xx

  2. The highlighter from Estée Lauder look stunning!

    • It really is Emmy. If you can get the Victoria Beckham compact, you will have a great investment. It is lovely on even paler skin tones like mine. Thanks for dropping by.xx

  3. The Victoria Beckham collection didn’t launch in Vienna;( Thanks for your friendly reply though!

  4. The Lauder DW nude is not out here yet. I will ask for a sample 🙂 Oh …. I like that sound of the Dior mousse. Sadly I cannot get to the shops as my Mum has taken ill and we took her to hospital again last night… she is 82 and now has pneumonia . Very worrying. I know it sounds “silly” Mandy but when I am stressed and waiting for the doctors etc. I think of makeup and what things I have seen and read on the internet – hey – better than drinking! LOL Dior Star is on my list – in fact my list is growing 🙂

    • Its not silly at all. You are under a lot of pressure and it must be so hard seeing your mum ill. I dread the day that happens to mine. She’s my rock. Beauty products make you feel good because they are a form of self pampering/love and that is very positive in any stressful situation, so it makes sense for you to think about makeup.
      I love watching vids when products i want are being reviewed. I must admit it though, i never get excited over high street makeup. It reminds me too much of being a skint teenager lol.
      I hope your mum gets well soon. Don’t worry too much xxx

Leave a Reply

 
